We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic, no frills hotel”
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #148 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This hotel has a great location, just outside the city centre in a nice quiet area. It is however very easy to walk to most parts of the city from this point and there are tram stops very close by. The room was very small, and basic but comfortable and I got good sleep whilst staying there. The main problem was that I was on the third floor of a house ajoining the main hotel and had to climb three very steep flights of stairs with my luggage unaided and it was frankly dangerous. The breakfast was fine but very basic with on hot food on offer. There is internet access at reception but it cost 50c for 10 minutes. Also had to pay to 'rent' the safe in my room which I didn't.

If you are looking for a no frills, cheapish option in a good location and don't mind climbing a lot of stairs this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracieDundee_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 466 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

Decided to book room at this hotel after reading many of the reviews on tripadvisor.com.

The hotel have a good location close to the museum district and a short walk (approx. 15 min) from Kalverstraat (one of the main streets for shopping in Amsterdam).

The service we received from the hotel staff was very good. Very attentive, helpful and polite.

The breakfast was OK.

We didn´t get rooms in the main building. That was not a problem for our group, but beware that there aren´t any elevator in the other building.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falkvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

very welcoming, pleasant and helpful staff. The room is clean, nice and quiet. . my room was much more than I expected -It's basic but comfortable enough. Ideal if you looking for a place that's away from the traffic and all city noise. Good location residential area, 10 minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharazade78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed at the Asterisk with two friends for three nights last April and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located south of the city centre close to the Heineken brewery museum and is a stones throw from the nearest bus and tram stop.
There is now a new annex on Den Texstraat adjacent to the main hotel where my friends were located. I stayed in a single room with a shared toilet on the second floor which is not suitable for elderly or disabled guests due to it's compact nature. In fact, I'm six foot tall and could only just turn around in the loo (a fact which my fellow travellers found hilarious).
The small dining area is on the ground floor and was very busy during breakfast. Staff were friendly although English was a problem occasionally.
For a short stay, The Asterisk is ideal. Better standard hotels are available for a price but with many travelers on a tight budget these days, small neighborhood hotels like this should not be overlooked.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in that hotels and booked it from Internet. They send us to the next house where they have other rooms, but not elevators. You have to carry your 20 Kg luggages on these high stairs (you see your partner feet when you climb, do not forget your alpinism equipment (joke) )

The personnel is friendly and speaks english and french as well, but they always ask you to go to the breakfast (free if you pay cash) but it close at 9.30 which was too early for us. I do not like to wake up early during holidays...

The service is not changing the sheets everyday and they knock at your door at 8.30... not really for romantic trip.

The room was giving to the back of the street and was quiet all nights except the last one because a party was in the garden.

The location is near the Heineken brouwery and not far from the center by tramway.

I cannot recommend it for student as the price was a bit high. I would expect a better service / room for that price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prx187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I was in Amsterdam for 3 nights by myself. As a recent college graduate, the price and other peoples reviews were what got me to book at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms and public areas very clean and looked to be quite new. Sharing a bathroom was not an issue, it was always clean and I never ran into anyone. My single room was sort of small, but was not an issue, even with me being 6'6". The hotel has a 2nd group of 8 rooms across the street and half a block down, but the short walk to breakfast was not an issue. Location was great, only a short walk to the museums, and maybe 30 minutes to the city center. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone looking to travel on a budget. It was well worth the 44 euros a night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKNordlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

This hotel was only one step above a hostel in our estimation and but was priced like a much nicer hotel. No/minimal toiletries. Rooms not consistently cleaned. Breakfast included but not very high quality. We did like the location, near the Cuypmarket, Heinekin Brewery and an easy walk to many locations once you got a feel for the layout of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 374 in Amsterdam
406 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#98 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,230 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#45 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#228 of 374 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#134 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing