We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$413
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
164
222
103
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
222
103
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheineken experiencequiet streethighly recommend hotelheineken factoryamsterdam houseexpensive breakfastvan gogh museumsteep staircasewalking distancewell located hotelclean bathroomrooms are bigminute walkwe loved our staytram stopground floorwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 532 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed at Asterisk during Queensday and it was great! Rooms are nice, clean and large enough. The only problem was, that you are not allowed to smoke in the room and there wasn't any balcony, but we managed:) It's in a beautifull small quiet street across the canal from Heineken in a walking distance to all the atractions. Staff was very nice and helpfull, breakfast was also good, so that we were pleasantlly surprised and will definetelly comme back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasna86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The good things about this hotel are that it’s in a quiet location of Amsterdam but within walking distance to many of the attractions. A couple of different tram lines also stop nearby to take you to attractions further afield. The breakfast which was included in the rate was also good in that there was quite a bit of variety (although a toaster for the bread would have made it better!) and the people at the reception were also friendly.

We stayed in a room in the building a couple of doors down from the main building and our own bedroom and sink but the bathroom was shared. We never had to wait for the bathroom and hardly ever saw any other guests so didn’t have any problems with the sharing. However, the cleaners had not kept any soap to wash our hands with in the bathroom (this was the same for our sink also). We weren’t expecting free shower gel or shampoo, but thought it was really bad of them to not even provide any soap for the shared bathrooms or for the sinks in the rooms. I went and checked out another shared bathroom also and it was the same case there. Our beds were never made although it was evident that the cleaner had come into the room as she had moved a couple of things around, we thought this was very strange!

Also the room was tiny with 2 single beds instead of a double bed, but this wasn’t a huge issue for us as we put the 2 beds together and at least the room was quiet!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwilankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with my family on 22nd March, 2009 for 2 days and it was a great stay. The reception was very helpful and informative.

The rooms are clean, spacious and he even arrange the rooms at ground floor so that my parents don't have to climb up the stairs. I really appreciate that.

The location is good, just short walking distance to catch a tram to the city center. And also not forget, great breakfast in the morning!

I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Husband & self had a long weekend here. Location is excellent - very quiet road (apart from cats yowling outside 2 nights out of 3!), easy walk to Albert Cuyp (market, Surinamese restaurants), museums etc. Trams 16, 24, 25 from Centraal Station. We know Amsterdam reasonably well, & some years back stayed in another hotel across the road. The Asterisk was better in that both rooms we saw were a decent size and well fitted out, although apparently the 'annexe' room are less so. (We asked to change the room originally assigned as it was adjacent to the lift - staff at the desk were very helpful with this.) Usual very steep stairs - not a problem if you're expecting it. Everything worked. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast unremarkable but OK, only downside was the serving area was quite small and could get crowded - best to get there early. Internet terminal in reception - you were meant to pay for it but staff let both of us use it for free. Very competitive price. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furtive_vole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

This is a lovely little b and b in Amaterdam!It is very clean and the rooms are lovely! It is located right next to a tram stop and the Heineken brewery and also the Van Gogh museum and also the Hard Rock Cafe which are all within walking distance.

It is a quiet hotel on a little street and you rarely are disturbed by other guests.

If you are the type of person who prefers a luxurious hotel with a big lift and stairs reconsider but with breakfast included at this price and in this location we Loved it! Great for young people!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews