We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“all you need really” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #148 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“all you need really”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Its a budget hotel so don't expect 5 star luxury- It is clean and tidy and very easy to get to the city center and attractions. Missed the breakfast so cant comment but on the whole if I was in Amsterdam I would stay here again as I had no problems with it. Why pay through the roof when you can get all you need at hotels such as this?! definitely would stay again and will strongly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    183
    86
    19
    16
See reviews for
48
130
61
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good value for money if you are okay with being in a room the size of a shoe box. I visited with my boyfriend and only one could stand as there was no space! Bathroom was also shared so if you don't mind rushing your showers etc then it'll be a pleasant enough experience. Breakfast was really good and location not bad: close to the Heineken experience and bars/restaurants.

Personally, because it was so tiny, I would not go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Eigenaar at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. From your reation, I can see that you stayed in a shared facilities room, which is indeed 10m2. Maybe next visit to Amsterdam you can consider to stay with us in a room with private bathroom. These rooms are up to 22m2 so they will give you subtanstional more living space. The shared facility rooms are for guests that want to spend their budget on other things than accomodation space, but still want to enjoy the luxury of a 3 to 4 star reception and service. With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a double room with bathroom. Both room and bathroom were a good size and although facilities were basic it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit limited in the choice available but good enough. The hotel though is in a good area - its away from the main tourist sites and the crowds but there are some very nice restaurants and good bars a short walk away. Easy to get to from central station as there are a couple of trams that take you to within 5 minutes walk away. If you are looking for somewhere to just rest your head after a busy days sight seeing then this hotel is fine. If you are expecting a bit more in the way of luxury then this isn't the place for you. One point to mention - stairs are incredibly steep and narrow. There is a tiny lift that is big enough for a couple of cases (although not sure if there is a lift in their other building across the road). On that basis i would not recomment for the older generation or people who have problems climbing stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice Amsterdam house with gorgeous eating area. If you want a Holiday Inn suite go to the holiday inn. My room was tiny but I loved it. It had what I needed. I booked a room with a shared toilet, upon arrival they said it was double booked and gave me a room with a full bathroom. Even better! Staff were kind. Cleaning lady and I chatted one day before I was going to nap and she went above and beyond to get me fresh towels and another blanket before I lay down. The location is walking distance to the Red Light, Anne Frank and lots of other stuff but tucked away to be very quiet and mellow at night. I would go back to this hotel again.

Only issue: no idea how to get consistent heat from heater... it was very finicky...

Room Tip: The website includes the size of the room. If you don't want a small room, ensure you book a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shiverwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for a recent weekend break, the hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was okay, not too much choice but to be expected with continental. Great value for money overall, the shared bathrooms were not an issue as we didn't have to queue and were able to use them freely when we needed to. This was one thing we were worried about! The hotel is in an ideal location also, only 15/20 minute walk from centre and less than 10 mins on the tram. Would stay again but only again for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Horel is very nice and clean and breakfast is realy good. But check the officil site before booking! we booked at hotels.com and thought that everuthing would be ok. But we got shared bathroom and extremly small room (the bed for 2 was 1.3 meter width). Luckily the hotel staff was very helpful and helped us to upgrate our room

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 2 girlfriends got 50th birthday. In quiet street, hotel had nice staff, clean good size room, excellent continental breakfast only thing missing was a toaster. Near to carlsburg experience . Would go again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#141 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#107 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#110 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Prinsengracht
Hotel Prinsengracht
#196 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Property: Hotel Asterisk
Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing