We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic but clean and good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #149 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a double room with bathroom. Both room and bathroom were a good size and although facilities were basic it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit limited in the choice available but good enough. The hotel though is in a good area - its away from the main tourist sites and the crowds but there are some very nice restaurants and good bars a short walk away. Easy to get to from central station as there are a couple of trams that take you to within 5 minutes walk away. If you are looking for somewhere to just rest your head after a busy days sight seeing then this hotel is fine. If you are expecting a bit more in the way of luxury then this isn't the place for you. One point to mention - stairs are incredibly steep and narrow. There is a tiny lift that is big enough for a couple of cases (although not sure if there is a lift in their other building across the road). On that basis i would not recomment for the older generation or people who have problems climbing stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    167
    79
    18
    15
See reviews for
40
116
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice Amsterdam house with gorgeous eating area. If you want a Holiday Inn suite go to the holiday inn. My room was tiny but I loved it. It had what I needed. I booked a room with a shared toilet, upon arrival they said it was double booked and gave me a room with a full bathroom. Even better! Staff were kind. Cleaning lady and I chatted one day before I was going to nap and she went above and beyond to get me fresh towels and another blanket before I lay down. The location is walking distance to the Red Light, Anne Frank and lots of other stuff but tucked away to be very quiet and mellow at night. I would go back to this hotel again.

Only issue: no idea how to get consistent heat from heater... it was very finicky...

Room Tip: The website includes the size of the room. If you don't want a small room, ensure you book a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shiverwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for a recent weekend break, the hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was okay, not too much choice but to be expected with continental. Great value for money overall, the shared bathrooms were not an issue as we didn't have to queue and were able to use them freely when we needed to. This was one thing we were worried about! The hotel is in an ideal location also, only 15/20 minute walk from centre and less than 10 mins on the tram. Would stay again but only again for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Horel is very nice and clean and breakfast is realy good. But check the officil site before booking! we booked at hotels.com and thought that everuthing would be ok. But we got shared bathroom and extremly small room (the bed for 2 was 1.3 meter width). Luckily the hotel staff was very helpful and helped us to upgrate our room

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 2 girlfriends got 50th birthday. In quiet street, hotel had nice staff, clean good size room, excellent continental breakfast only thing missing was a toaster. Near to carlsburg experience . Would go again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you're a museum buff and plan on spending time in the Rijsmuseum or the Van Gogh, this is ideally located. It is a short walk from Vondelspark and Leidesplein.

The rooms are quite basic and small. The price reflects what is offered so it is worth it if you will be out seeing the sites and do not intend on spending any time in your room except to sleep.

The staff is young and helpful. The breakfast is decent.

Ideal for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank et5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room small but clean, staff very friendly and helpful...went for English speaking driving lessons with Driveright who collected me at the door.After a weekend of driving around Amsterdam(opposite side of the road) I was only too glad to return to my comfy space and chill with TV.Don't forget to help yourself to discount cards in reception and buy your tram ticket there too....it saves time and money.I loved my weekend and felt safe alone at all times.This hotel is near enough to everything, but far enough from things you might not want to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#276 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#211 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Property: Hotel Asterisk
Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterisk 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing