We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stress-free stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #151 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stress-free stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stay at Asterisk was very pleasant and stress free what is the most important. Also, location is very good as well as you only minutes away from all the night life and if you rent a bike you also minutes away from the main Amsterdam station as well as city center.

Check-in was very smooth and fast. We were also able to leave our bags in the storage and head to city straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful. Also, Emelie added extra mile to suggest any places of interest to visit or any other assistance needed and asked if anything else she can help us with. I am working in London within 4-5* hotels for over 4 years and really would be able to be picky but at The Hotel Asterisk there was nothing to pick up on something.

Free wi-fi, also we needed to check out 30min later, as I was getting my car from car park my fiancee needed to stay in the room so, it did not cause any inconvenience for the hotel.

Definitely, would recommend!

Thanks for all the staff and Emelie. ALL THE BEST FOR YOU!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    172
    81
    18
    16
See reviews for
42
123
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel wasn't too bad, just a few little things that bothered me.
The water in the shower would not stay on the same temperature for more than a minute and sometimes would take about 2 minutes to even have hot water.
The cleaning staff would knock on your door to clean your room every morning at about 11.. If you're like me and have a big night or just like to sleep in, your room will never get cleaned and will have a large collection of rubbish because there's no where else to really put it.
You can also hear almost everything said in the room next to you and currently they are renovating the building across from asterisk and they will play music and be using loud tool in the morning... The beds are also super squishy and have crappy pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First part of Hotel Asterisk that I loved was the fact that it gave directions right down to the tram number we needed to catch to find it when arriving in Amsterdam. Second part was how helpful the receptionist was when we arrived. Very polite and efficient. She gave us good tips on where to eat (ended up going back to the restaurant twice as the food was so good)
Room is a little small but if you are out traveling who wants to be shut up in their hotel room anyway. Shared bathroom was very clean. Bed was super comfy!!
Reccommend if staying you walk through the little park to the pancake carousel!
This hotel is in a great location, easy to find your way around and is well worth staying at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyJo1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel had a great location to visit Amsterdam and the desk was very helpful in helping us find different locations, We plan to stay there again on our next visit. Also, the breakfast was good and we will recommend the Asterisk to our friends,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel was in a very good location if you want to go to the Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. Very close to canal boat trip and bike hire. Hotel receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The room was a decent size. The stairs were ridiculously steep but there is a tiny elevator which helps a great deal. Very clean. Breakfast was adequate. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Property: Hotel Asterisk
Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterisk 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing