We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, basic and great!”
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #147 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were deciding between staying in a hostel or an affordable hotel for 2 girls, and we finally settled on Hotel Asterisk.

The location was good. It was near to Central by tram, yet far enough in a quiet neighborhood. The Heineken Experience was just a 5min walk away. From the airport, we took Bus 197 and changed to tram 7 or 10 at Leidseplein.

Check-in was a breeze and we were given free maps at the reception. We were early, so we left our luggage in the luggage storage area and went to explore the area before heading back. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor at the next building but that was no issue to us as we traveled light with just cabin bags. The steps were steep, but I understand that this was a common design (and problem) in most buildings in Netherlands.

Our twin rooms were basic and very small. Space was tight if both of us wanted to open up our luggage. There is a sink in the room which was great for us to wash up in the mornings. The shared bathroom was just outside the room and we had no problems having to use the shower. The bed was clean and comfortable enough to give us a good night rest.

Breakfast was at the main building and they serve the same menu every morning. But it was enough to fill us with cereal, juices, assorted toast, boiled eggs, ham and cheese, and coffee/tea.

In conclusion, this hotel fits all our basic requirements. Clean rooms, near amenities and transport, value for money with breakfast. It's definitely a better alternative to hostels for the price we paid for a twin room. Suits anyone with a tight budget and traveling light with small suitcase. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not sure what was going on in the city, but I had a lot of issues finding any availability in a reasonably priced hotel. Asterisk was on the limit of my budget (280EUR/2 nights in a triple room which was the only available one), but as it was the closest I could get to the centre, I decided to take it.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre, not too much though, some 15 minutes. Nothing very impressive, or characteristic, except for the traditional super-steep staircase. There's a lift luckily though. We (me and my boyfriend) stayed on the second floor. Room was huge, as it was a triple, but nothing to write home about. Bed was comfy enough, but the pillows too thick for comfrot (I know, strange, as it is usually the other way around). Bathroom had a bath and was definitely clean if a little on the old side.

The problem really was the noise. We had quite loud neighbours (hen party?) and that pretty much prevented any sleep before 1am. It really sounded like they were partying in our bathroom. Also, some of the rooms obviously didn't have an ensuite, so we were constantly woken up by people banging doors to use the toilet opposite our room. And, as it is an old house, anyone walking in the above room caused quite a lot of creaking and even our ceiling lamp to swing. Yes, I've stayed at noisier places, but I have rarely paid over 100EUR per night for them!

Breakfast was adequate, but I would much rather had the option of paying less for it to not be included (this was not an option). The reception people were very nice and polite though, so a big plus for them!

Room Tip: Maybe top floor would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found that the Hotel Asterisk was perfectly adequate for our needs and served it's purpose well for central Amsterdam, The rooms were on the small side but with a busy short stay in a city this was not a problem. The bathroom was close enough and served by plenty of hot water from an excellent shower. The hotel was clean and friendly with excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review! From your comment, I understand that you stayed in one of our basic rooms, which are indeed smaller than the ones with private facilities. I agree that those rooms are very suitable for travellers that like to have a nice place to stay at a top location, to be in the center-museum area for a good budget price. For travellers that need more comfort and/or space, we have rooms with private facilities, that are at least twice the sice of the budget rooms. For best offers, book through our own website with discount code Amsterdam.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a typical small hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. Unfortunately my room was on the first floor and there was no elevator - it was quite a struggle to get my bags up the very steep stairs.

Breakfast was included and was quite satisfactory but simple.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumbo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it is helpfull for us in improving our service and communication. We do have an elevator in th main building, as our website states. So, upon reservation, you can ask for a room in the main building. Or, we are always more than happy to help our guest with their luggage if asked. We are used to the staircases. Some of our guests like the other buildings better since they seem more quiet or like a normal house. We even have two rooms with a nice garden for our guests in those buildings.
I hope that you will visit us again some day.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Krasimira K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#146 of 372 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#104 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#174 of 372 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#124 of 372 in Amsterdam
683 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $112 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing