We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #145 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    194
    92
    20
    17
See reviews for
54
137
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just spent 4 days here, the location was excellent, nicely located away from the noise but really close so you can wander into town in the evening. It's surrounded by fab little coffe shops and pubs so that you also don't have to pay more expensive prices for lunch etc in the center if you don't want to. The room was a good size, basic but very clean and nice, the hotel is a teeny bit dated in some parts but not so you'd notice, it's very clean and the dinning room plus reception are very smart indeed. Breakfast was nice and open until 10am which was great. The reception staff were always smiley, welcoming and helpful. Some other friends who staid close at other hotels this weekend, did not have as nice an experience in their hotels, being penalized for being 20 minutes late to check in, they couldn't leave bags in reception etc.. Hotel Asterisk was quite the opposite, they really couldn't do enough for us and were super helpful, I thoroughly recommend it AND it really didn't break the bank either, very reasonably priced! I will absolutely stay there again next time I visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOOltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed there with two girlsfriends. it is a very good hotel when you are travelling with friends. Hotel was very clean and cosy. Service was excellent at the reception. Breakfast was good.
Rooms were quite noicy - maybe because we had a public bathroom next door. I would recommend this hotel anyway. Location was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated re: the tram lines (it's about 1 min walk from the intersection of the north south and the east west line) It's 5 tram stops from central station/2 stops from Leidseplien/1 stop from the Museum district).
The hotel is on a quiet residential street so, even with the widows wide open at night in a room at the front of the hotel, we were not disturbed.
The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful (HI Kimo. Hi Jay)
I've seen criticisms of the "basic breakfast' that is available. I can't understand this! The breakfast buffet was great! Coffee is always freshly made and the jugs are always topped up. Other hot drinks are available. Bolied eggs. Fruit juices. Apples. Cereal (including Sugar Puffs!). Yoghurt. Cheese, Cold meat. Hot milk. Cold meat. Cheese. Lots of different breads. Raisin bread. Honey. Jam. A toaster would have been nice though.
Hotel is really clean. Beds are made up daily.
The bed rooms are a *little* bit tired looking but this isn't a huge criticism at all. They were fine. Comfy beds. The room we had was a triple so it was big enough. This is central-ish Amsterdam so the rooms are going to be huge anyway!
Really steep stairs (but, again, this is central Amsterdam. I wouldn't like to get a pram or a sofa up and down them but .... a suitcase and a backpack and myself was a breeze.
Shower was great. Hot water every time.
There's free WiFi in the rooms and a free internet terminal at reception.
If you pay by Visa Debit card, you'll still get stung for the 4% surcharge that you'd expect for paying with a credit card. Sneaky!!
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mister_mustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. They are very inspiring, so we bought a toaster!
Hope to welcome you again,

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was a perfect location for us. Within a very easy walk of the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum on a quiet side street. It is also in the shadow of the Heineken brewery. We walked or took trams everywhere.

Three members of our family stayed here for five days. Mum, dad and 18 year old son. We stayed in a triple room. The room size was good - I have had tighter squeezes in much fancier and more expensive hotels. No tea making facilities in the room - but we survived. There is no air conditioning but we were fine with the windows opened. (middle of August) There really was no noise from the street to keep us awake.

The stairs ARE steep and if that freaks you out - take the lift. This is an old and traditional Amsterdam residence that has been converted into a hotel so steep stairs are normal to residents of the city.

The reception staff were all delightful and charming. They were keen to help us in any way they could and really wanted us to enjoy our stay in Amsterdam. Good coupons for tourist attractions at reception. We booked a museum ticket at the front desk which allowed us to jump a HUGE queue at the Van Gogh Museum.

Nice breakfast room with plenty of variety. No cooked breakfasts for the fans of a fry up. Everything was spotlessly clean. Other hotel guests were so quiet it felt as if we were the only ones there. It was startling to see other people at breakfast because we never heard them.

The hotel is in such a prime location, is good value for money and the staff are so charming that it is firmly our hotel of choice when making any return visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, it helps us to improve our service. Unfortunately that you did not mention that you missed tea facilities, they are on demand and we would have been able to get them to your room, as well as for instance a hairdryer.
We hope to welcome you some other time,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 367 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,181 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#183 of 367 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#50 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Property: Hotel Asterisk
Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing