We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only thing missing was boiled eggs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
Ranked #148 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Viernheim, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only thing missing was boiled eggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Sure, the room is small and the stairs are steep. Unless you are staying in a higher-end hotel, this is always the case in Amsterdam. The room was very clean. The shared bath was very clean and almost always empty. The view from room 38 was the backyards of residences and the Heineken offices. The breakfast was very filling, but missing eggs only. We love boiled eggs. There is a working lift. There are mints at the business-y/friendly front desk. There is a secured luggage locker. The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk to the Rejksmuseum and a 3 min walk to three trams that will take you directly to Centraal Station. Nothing to complain about except no eggs.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    172
    81
    18
    16
See reviews for
42
123
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

This is a 2 star hotel - so that's what you should expect - but the location was perfect, the staff was extremely helpful and I certainly felt that I got my money's worth. Yes - rooms are small and the building is quite old - but you're in Amsterdam. There is a lift in the building I was in, which is good since the stairs are almost treacherous. The worst part was the other guests coming in at all hours of the night from the "coffeeshops." I would definitely stay here again if I could only afford a 2 star hotel.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — noise of other guests
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

Me and My girlfriend stayed in Hotel Asterisk for 4 nights. I still can't believe it was available and only about 110 euros per night for both of us.
The staff was fabulous, the room was neat everyday and breakfast was good.

Asterisk is located near Museumsplein, 5 minutes walk to rijksmuseum. it is also not far from leidsplein (We walked there).

We recommend a tour to Heineken Museum across the street, and the pancake house infront of the hotel.

Asterisk is a good bargain. we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean, Cheap, Friendly !
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have stayed in Hotel Asterisk for six days during Christmas. It was absolutely great experience for us. It was partly business|private trip and the hotel suited both means the best.

Fist of all, we admire the friendly attitude of the staff. Always smiling and very helpful. Rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast good enough. Absolutely nice, authentic Dutch building with the huge and narrow stairs (if you are traveling with bags - you can use an elevator) and great cosy atmosphere. Close to city center.

The only minus is a little bit spartan conditions of living: just only essential things, nothing extra. But for two stared hotel it is extra already!

So if you travel to Amsterdam and wanna make a smart choice, we highly recommend hotel Asterisk.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Spartan rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anton_and_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

It is a nice hotel, a little old from deco and with a steeeeep stair, clean, very friendly and quiet that it will suit people who can pay only the basics but in its best form. Centrum and basic museums at walking distance (although it was -4C!!).

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean, warm
  • Disliked — i have seen better bathrooms, but it was ok and clean
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GEOHannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Being one of the cheapest hotels I could find in Amsterdam, (£89 a night) my husband and I were prepared for the worst. However, for a hotel of it's class, we were more than happy with what we got.

The location is a little bit out of the action, but if you want a proper nights sleep and somewhere not full of people smoking then it is ideal. It's also a good way of discovering areas you wouldn't usually see and is close to the museum quarter.

Plus - Reception was friendly and helpful - although they ask you for full payment upfront, you can leave your passport with them and then pay when checking out. The room was good, quite large with a decent sized bathroom and we found the beds very comfortable, The room was always cleaned very well and we got fresh towels every day. The heating served us very well in the very low temperatures.

Minus - no tea or coffee making facilities, breakfast very basic, steep stairs (can't expect much more from Amsterdam) and the vending machine took my money and didn't give me any chocolate!!

  • Liked — Room, location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maisie_muck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I stayed in Amsterdam for 2 nights during a trip within a trip when I was in London for 2 weeks in October. I did a lot of research and was surprised at how pricey a simple B&B was - but I didn't want to stay somewhere unsafe/sketchy just to pay less money either. Eventually I came across the Asterisk through Trip Advisor and decided that it sounded okay for the price.

Overall I enjoyed the Asterisk - it is a no-frills hotel, and I stayed in the no-frills budget rooms in the annex building located a couple of doors over from the main building. The check-in service was great and prompt, and everyone was really nice and friendly. We went back a few times to ask questions and they were relatively helpful, although we couldn't figure out how to use the trams (legally) and they weren't much help in that department. Be warned that you are expected to pay for your room as soon as you walk in the door!

The rooms aren't particularly huge, nor are they decorated. The budget rooms have a sink in your room which is nice, plus a shared bathroom between 4 rooms - but I never once ran across someone else using the bathroom so that wasn't a problem. I believe there is a breakfast buffet of some sort but it wasn't clearly spelled out as to whether it was free or cost 10 euros so we skipped it.

In terms of complaints, I had a couple. The staircase leading up to the rooms in the annex building really was insane. I thought people were exaggerating about its narrowness, but no - it was almost like climbing a ladder. I had fun with it - but if you're older or have difficulty with stairs this is probably a scary prospect. Also, to get into my room you had to get into it by entering through another door which led to two different room doors (mine and another). All 3 of these doors were INSANELY loud and squeaky - luckily neither of us seemed to come in very late so we didn't get woken up in the middle of the night.

The pros to this place - the location is really nice. It's quiet and peaceful, and right by a few of the attractions including the (fun) Heinekin Museum, The Rijksmuseum, and the Van Gogh Museum. Really though, Amsterdam is an extremely walkable town. If you've never been, I'd recommend the 12 euro shuttle, but once you're a bit more familiar with the town you'll find walking (or shuttling) to Central Station and taking a train is way cheaper and more efficient. Also, you happen to be right near the Pancake Carousel - which I highly recommend. The Poffertjes are the best!

Overall I think if I went back I'd look into other places that maybe offered a few more amenities for the price (although 80 euros a night isn't bad) but I wouldn't mind staying at the Asterisk again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank brittyandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Property: Hotel Asterisk
Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterisk 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing