We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week-end stay in a good value hotel in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior
Ranked #148 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Good points-Well situated ( Weterling circuit), clean, quiet street. Breakfast normal menu but everything was good quality and there was plenty.Staff very friendly and helpful. Downside- bedroom small but what you would expect for the price, expected shared bathroom but none on third floor where our room was had to go down to the second floor so watch out for that .
Good for a week-end but not a longer stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SWINDLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 472 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed for one night on a Saturday and booked a twin room for €89 (cheapest we could find). Clean room which was small and had a wash bowl with shower and toilet outside on landing which were also clean. Didn't make breakfast which ends at 9.30am. Stayed in the annexe which was two doors down the street and we were on the third floor. Very steep staircase but okay if travelling light. Ideal location if going to the Paradiso at night (11 minute walk) and close to good tram links. Hotel has a sign saying 'No Drug Taking in Rooms'. Other guests didn't adhere to this rule as the smell of weed was very strong when we reached our floor. As i said in the heading ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank This_is_staines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in the quad room for one night. We stayed in another place near the red light district for two other nights, but wished we stayed here the whole time. Very nice neighborhood, quiet, a great play park for children across the street, tram stop right nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewS997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

All front desk staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Stayed 3 nights.
We had a room for 3 and was very roomy.. As was the bathroom.
We will stay there again

Room Tip: Stay on ground or first floor..steep steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TBF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at the hostel with three friends, shared two double rooms.
Biggest advantage is the price, its quite cheap to stay there (cause hostels are mostly 2-night booking only). Its clean, its allright, nothing much. wouldnt recommend it for a longer stay.
the rooms are tiny and the double bed is squeezed between the walls, there is no walking space whatsoever. Showers are on the hallway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prosfallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We liked everything about the hotel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was clean as was the bathroom. It is also on a quiet street. The breakfast was good. If I were to go to Amsterdam again, I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verfol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I was travelling along and felt very comfortable staying here. The room was more than adequate. 70 euro a night for single that included breakfast. (boiled eggs, bread, cheese, vegetables, cereal, yoghurt etc). I could walk everywhere and a direct tram ride from the train station. It was worth the 15 euro at the end of the trip taking the airport shuttle from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hernher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#150 of 375 in Amsterdam
411 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#102 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#189 of 375 in Amsterdam
340 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 375 in Amsterdam
470 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#170 of 375 in Amsterdam
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing