We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel My Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel My Home
Ranked #83 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I chose this hostel as I had stayed here twice before (2003 and 2008) and can honestly say this hostel has only got better each time I have stayed here. Don't be deceived though, amenities are very basic and the rooms are very small but if like me you just want a place to rest your head then I would definately recommend this as place to stay!

I booked this trip for my Partner's birthday as I wanted to take him to the Queens day festival (which is AMAZING and is definately worth going to), so we didn't spend a massive amount of time in the hostel although it was excellent as a base to pop back to and take a breather from all the festivities, the staff are VERY friendly and VERY helpful and breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day. The resident cat is also adorable but beware of leaving your window open as the cat sneaks in at all hours!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Its pretty basic and the rooms smell like smoke, but the staff are really friendly and helpful. We shared a bathroom which was not great but okay. Location is great, make sure you go to the pub across the road on the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANAPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a little hard to find, but once there was okay. Close eateries etc. Included breakfast (continental) and the staff were helpful.

The rooms were tiny. We were located right next to the bathroom so heard it most of the night :(

Room Tip: Room away from toilets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Croms84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a difficult place to review. Usually I feel you should review somewhere according to how well it achieves what it sets out to do or to be. No-one criticizes an Indian restaurant for not having any Tex-Mex dishes. This hotel aims to provide safe, clean accommodation with a very basic investment in facilities - and it does just that. I stayed for four nights with a friend, in a room that was occupied about 60 percent by a reasonably comfortable twin bed. The breakfast was also very basic but welcome and served pleasantly.
The location is great - Haarlemmerstraat offers a unique Amsterdam combination of "coffeeshops", restaurants and pubs, and interesting shops. Ten minutes from Amsterdam Centraal (very close, but still a pain on a cold, rainy January night...), and also close to the lively and yuppie Jordaan neighborhood.
Having said all that - I can't give this more than two stars over all, simply because it is so very basic. As other reviewers have said, if you know what you're coming to, you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel itself isn't the most stunning to look at by any stretch of the imagination, the decor was quite old but still kept very clean which is a credit to the staff. For the price we paid, the service we got was great. The few staff there were really helpful and friendly, especially when we were asking for recommendations of where to go, they were more than happy to cook us breakfast a little later than advertised when we strolled down the stairs feeling worse for wear! The only stumbling point was the hugely steep stairs leading up to the rooms (excuse the pun), however this actually turned out to be great fun when rolling in at silly o clock in the morning! Location was also brilliant. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Location of the hostel was good. We had a triple room which was quite tight on space, but the beds did the trick. The host was nice - everything was good and value was in line with what we had paid for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_and_H_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel/hostel early Sept. Rooms we're clean but VERY small. We paid for a double room which was 2 single beds.
The bathrooms and showers were also both really small. As a person that is 5'9" it was a tight squeeze! We were on the top floor which is a good 46 stairs to get there.
Locations was amazing! Not a bad value for what we paid 70.00EUR/night with breakfast included!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amellia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Hostelle
#32 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#20 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#124 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#6 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#30 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel My Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel My Home

Property: Hotel My Home
Address: Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel My Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing