We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“no sleep here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flower Market Hotel
Ranked #296 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    36
    35
    53
See reviews for
10
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

First of all I have to say that I have been to a large number of budget 1 or 2 star hotels before all over the world and that I'm fully aware and prepared to what awaits me.

I however cannot accept:

1) the hotel lying to me about the private bathroom which in fact turned out to be outside our room. And although we did have a key to it what it meant that we didn't have a bathroom inside our room as promised. We actually had to go to the corridor in the middle of the night, open the door with key, then lock it from the inside with key, then lock it again from the outside which was very annoying. When we complained about it to the receptionist and asked for the refund or come form of discount to compensate the difference in what we were promised with what we had our complaints were completely ignored. No one even made an effort to apologise and explain.

2) the state of the room was appalling. Don't trust the pictures you see on the booking site. I attached the real pictures of the room. Not only it was so tiny that there were no floor space to open my suitcase it was completely run down. It was also DIRTY. I have hair on my pillow and a blood stain on my blanket. We would have left immediately but it was 11:30pm and we were exhausted after the travel.

I'm sure for the money they charge (we paid 75euros) you can find something better in Amsterdam.

PS there is a night club just outside the hotel, so don't expect a quiet night. Although, be ready to climb extremely steep and narrow stairs with your luggage (we stayed on the 5th floor!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polasx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel location is simply excelent, by the Singel, near the museums, Rembrant Square and the Dam Square. Good value for money is also important. Rooms are small but cleans and the beds are confortable and clean. Adequate bath rooms. Bad tv sets and quite steepy stairs. Gentle staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Filipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Positive
- location
- staff friendly
- the sheets e towls where clean
- hot water

Negative
- room without Windows
- old and bad looking room
- they didnt't clean the room and bathroom in 5 days!!!
- same spots in the carpete and wall
- the adapted socket of heater, hair dryer, mini bar and television stopped Work in the first day and they didnt't fixe in the 5 days!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatyBuzolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked the hotel early and paid 120 euros a night. We only realised when we got there every where was expensive because of queens day. The receptionist said we got a very good rate(?!) I wouldn't have liked to book later as I think 120 e a night is too much!
I don't think 120 is justified, I would stay here again but it would have to be a cheaper rate

It is in a good location

It is in need of some modernisation but to be fair it is clean enough

Tip: There is a club next door so stay out late on the sat night/sunday am

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amos-Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#313 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#200 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#275 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Market Hotel

Property: Flower Market Hotel
Address: Singel 458, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Flower Market Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Flower Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing