We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good breakfast, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed a few times in this hotel, clean and comfortable. The room was warm in the winter,the breakfast was great for a budget hotel, this hotel definitely is the one of the best budget hotels I have ever stay. The only thing I don't like about this hotel is late check in and if you haven't pay for the next day the housekeeping will ask you to leave the room in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittymiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    646
    230
    44
    33
See reviews for
91
129
328
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I have recently returned form a weekend break to Amsterdam with 3 of my girl pals. All the hotels were booked up and majorly overpriced due to a media conference so the only place for us to stay was the Vondelpark hostel. I have never stayed at a hostel before so was a little worried about whether it would be clean and if it would be too noisy. I havt o say, I was pleasantly suprised on both accounts. We opted to stay in a private dorm which had 3 bunk beds, small table, a decent sized shower room and a separate toilet. There was enough room for us to all spread out and get ready easily. We had to make our own beds on arrival, but this was no problem at all. The hostel is in a great location for the park and the Leidseplein which is full of bars, restaurants and shops. I would have no problems staying here again in a private dorm. You can't argue with the price and the breakfast wasn't bad either. You do have to queue which feels a bit school dinner-ish but it's not a major problem really. They have lots of voucher tags hanging up in the dining room with money off attractions and restaurants etc. so make sure you take advantage of them. The bar area was nice. We enjoyed a few reasonably priced beers whilst playing with the wii then headed off to town. There was a mixed bag of people staying here - single young travellers, groups of people and older couples so it was a nice atmosphere. It's worth a visit for a cheap weekend in Amsterdam and I would have no problems staying here again. It put all of my hostel preconceptions to bed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We went to Amsterdam as a college trip and therefore to keep costs at a minimum we stayed in a Hostel. On arrival there was sick in the lobby which wasnt a good start. When we arrived our rooms werent even ready and in a rush the hostel threw our room together carelessly. I would much rarther of waited for them to wait then to do is as a pathetic excuse of cleanliness. The pillows were all extreemly uncomfortable and the beds were terrible. One matress has blood stains on the bottom which is too the extreems of poor hygiene, one bed had mouldy food underneath that made my colleague vomit as he was breathing it in. Also the dried sick on the wall. The room was full of dust, especially under the beds. The location of the hostel is however good. Easy access to all popular areas of Amsterdam in a couple of minutes. However the road is not ideal for cars or any other vehicles. Overall a good college trip but a terrible accomodation & i will not be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanair553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayokay Vondelpark (pronounced as Fondelpaark), is located right next to Vondelpark, which is a very big park in Amsterdam. Apart from the proximity to a ver pretty park, the hostel is also close to a lot of important locations like Mac-Bike hiring store, ABN Amro ATM -and a mere 15 minute cycle ride from the Red Light Area.

It is a bit far off from the airport, but with the tram facility available, that is not a problem.

The rooms are decent, with attached bathrooms - the locker facility is a bit t be desired for - the breakfast is okay - but the bar is decent...

The pool table and other entertainment is not upto the mark, but thats okay - you anyways rather hangout by the canals or coffee shops rather than the pool table while in this city..

All in all - a very nice economical stay - and good people managing the hostel. They had forgotten our bookings, but when they realised that it was their mistake, they were quick to apologise and fix us up in rooms - gave us complimentary drinks too.. However, when you go - make sure that you reconfirm your bookings so that there is no problems.

Remember to first go and hire a mac-bike - bec they run out in peak season - and cycling is the best way to explore this wonderful city. We even took our bikes to Rotterdam via train - and that is also a convenient and cheap option.

Last - have the falafel at Maos - they make the best ones I have had across my travels...

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank typsytype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at the stayokay for 3 nights. We didn't book ahead of time, so it was a little pricier than we were expecting. We had a 20 bed room (I believe) and there were a few things that grossed me out-the rooms looked like they haven't been swept or vacuumed in about a month (lots of dirt and trash from other people), the bathrooms also looked the same, with hair all over the place and the floors were also pretty dirty and gross. Also, the bed linens are very clean, but I don't think that they wash the pillows or comforters at all. I didn't really care about that, but if you are a germ freak, you may have a problem.
The location is great. Vondelpark is gorgeous to walk through and the tram is really close by, along with about a hundred places to eat and people watch. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly, the bar is nice-always packed at night, and the breakfast is good and included in the price. I would like to come back to Amsterdam again, but not sure if I would stay here because of the lack of cleaning!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxgal91576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The location is amazing, the hostel is very organized, clean, the room is perfect, there are a lot of possibilities for fun and meet people, and the breakfast is like a hotel!!!! I think is the best option to stay in Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizasga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I had a great time staying at Stayokay Vondelpark. It had a great location - just far enough out of the way that it was very quiet at night, enough so that I could get a full night's sleep, which is rare for a hostel. At the same time, it was located next to Vondelpark, a great place to relax and run/bike during the daytime, and quite close to Leidsplein, a great place for partying at night. It's pretty much ideal. The room was very clean.
My only gripe with this hostel is that it felt very much like I was customer rather than a guest. Other than the breakfast, which is included in the bill (a huge plus), everything costs extra. This isn't out of the ordinary for a hostel, but dealing with the receptionists, I always felt like I was being pushed to buy something, whether it be a padlock, a towel, or access to the internet.
However - it's a great feature to be able to buy tickets at reception - you can skip past the lines without paying extra! They offer discounts on 24 hour bike rentals, which I highly recommend taking advantage of for a shorter trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#138 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing