We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Ranked #23 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice facilities, excellent breakfast. Wifi gets up to the second floor (at least in my room) the location was good, close to the museums. Kinda pricey but everything in amsterdam is. The rooms may need a couple more showers

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alejodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you liked our location, breakfast, and other facilities! We are aware of the fact that some rooms need more showers. Therefore, we are planning a renovation at the end of this year. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was in Amsterdam with a friend back in February, and we decided to book a room (we were two people in a four person all-female room) at the Stayokay Vondelpark after reading the positive reviews on Hostelworld. I was quite impressed with the cleanliness of the facilities, and the front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I have already recommended this place to several friends travelling to Amsterdam. The location is excellent (right in Vondel Park!) and just minutes away from the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum, the iconic I Amsterdam sign, shops, restaurants, basically anything you could need! During the weekend, we both felt very safe. We forgot that breakfast was included, so that was a nice surprise during our stay. Definitely worth the price; great value here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeyap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us during your time in Amsterdam. Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again some time soon! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

2nd year with a party of 18 year olds. Excellent again. Multi lingual desk with very helpful people. Great food great bar great atmosphere. Really close to Van Gogh museum and rijksmuseum and a 20 min walk to dam square. If in coach drop off at the end of small road as coach won't go down. An excellent hotel and will be back next year. Superb

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again. See you next year! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

it is a very good located, clean and popular hostel. rooms were tidy and clean. the breakfast was okay. the city center is just a few minutes walking distance from the hostel. I liked this place and enjoyed my time in here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serhat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you had such a good time with us! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Prime location to most places you want to visit within Amsterdam. Walkable to Van Gough museum, heineken experience, and the Rijksmuseum. Also across the street is leidseplein square which has a ton of bars and nightlife going on. There is also a casino nearby. Can't stress the location enough.

The hostel itself was good or average. Clean enough, wifi only in the lobby which is a bummer. Multiple card swipes to get to your room is annoying but makes sure your safe at least. The front desk is nice and extremely helpful with everything from directions to tours of the city. Bring your own lock because you'll have to buy one there, and they also don't rent towels only sell them. If your a student on a budget and need a place, this is a very solid option. Lots of students and young people were staying when I visited and its a younger crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank Chrisbesserer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear you liked the hostel and the services we offer. We really appreciate your kind words. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, 3 people in a 4 person ensuite
Pros
Room is spacious; shower & toilet are separate
Wide selection of cheese, cold meat, fruits etc. for breakfast
Staff were very friendly & helpful (I had an online interview one night and they offered me a quiet space to have the interview, plus internet was smooth!). Also allowed us to leave our larger luggage for 2 nights when we went to Belgium.
Good location -if you like walking, locations are within easy walking distances (especially since Holland's so flat).

Cons
Internet only available in public areas, not in rooms (but the public areas were nice and comfy)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11,325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us, and we hope you got the job! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here with a friend at the end of January in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Reception staff were friendly enough. The room was actually slightly bigger than I thought it would be, judging by the pictures and the shower/toilet/sink were all very clean. Not having wifi in the room was a litlle annoying but didn't really matter. Tried the breakfast once, wasn't great to be honest.

Didn't really spend much time in the hostel but it was a nice place to be based. It was handy how the free walking tour started from the reception.

Would definitely stay here again if returning to Amsterdam however I would probably get a private room as sharing with two random people was a very slight inconveniencenat times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffman_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And of course we would like to welcome you back soon too! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#64 of 248 in Amsterdam
533 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,296 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $40 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing