We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Prime location to most places you want to visit within Amsterdam. Walkable to Van Gough museum, heineken experience, and the Rijksmuseum. Also across the street is leidseplein square which has a ton of bars and nightlife going on. There is also a casino nearby. Can't stress the location enough.

The hostel itself was good or average. Clean enough, wifi only in the lobby which is a bummer. Multiple card swipes to get to your room is annoying but makes sure your safe at least. The front desk is nice and extremely helpful with everything from directions to tours of the city. Bring your own lock because you'll have to buy one there, and they also don't rent towels only sell them. If your a student on a budget and need a place, this is a very solid option. Lots of students and young people were staying when I visited and its a younger crowd.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbesserer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear you liked the hostel and the services we offer. We really appreciate your kind words. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    686
    239
    50
    36
See reviews for
99
136
356
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a nice hostel with a great location, especially if you're trying to save money on public transportation or only have a short time in Amsterdam. It's a really short walk from Museumplein (which includes the Rijks Museum, the Van Gogh Museum, and Stedelijk Museum) and is also a short walk from Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein (great places to go out), the flower market, and several great places to shop. It has a card swipe system and while the cupboard in your room doesn't come with a lock, you can bring your own or rent a safe downstairs for a semi-reasonable price. The beds have individual lights and the room, sheets, etc. were all very clean, although the overall atmosphere of the hostel almost seemed a little too clean and standardised. The bar had good beer and was busy on Friday night, but it's still much better to out to a real bar. Wi-fi was only available in the lobby, which was kind of a bummer, but the breakfast was great. Bring your own soap/hand sanitiser because they don't have it in the bathrooms adjoining the rooms.

Room Tip: If you want to save money, don't be afraid to stay in one of the super big rooms. If I remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for you great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Come back soon! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, 3 people in a 4 person ensuite
Pros
Room is spacious; shower & toilet are separate
Wide selection of cheese, cold meat, fruits etc. for breakfast
Staff were very friendly & helpful (I had an online interview one night and they offered me a quiet space to have the interview, plus internet was smooth!). Also allowed us to leave our larger luggage for 2 nights when we went to Belgium.
Good location -if you like walking, locations are within easy walking distances (especially since Holland's so flat).

Cons
Internet only available in public areas, not in rooms (but the public areas were nice and comfy)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us, and we hope you got the job! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here with a friend at the end of January in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Reception staff were friendly enough. The room was actually slightly bigger than I thought it would be, judging by the pictures and the shower/toilet/sink were all very clean. Not having wifi in the room was a litlle annoying but didn't really matter. Tried the breakfast once, wasn't great to be honest.

Didn't really spend much time in the hostel but it was a nice place to be based. It was handy how the free walking tour started from the reception.

Would definitely stay here again if returning to Amsterdam however I would probably get a private room as sharing with two random people was a very slight inconveniencenat times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffman_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And of course we would like to welcome you back soon too! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I traveled with my friends to Amsterdam mid January 2014. They had already booked their rooms and I decided at a later point to join them. We tried to contact the hostel to get us in the same room but we got no response from them so when I booked my room we added this to the notes instead. In the end they were not able to arrange this for us so we ended up with 2 4 bed rooms between 3 people. So we were paying an excess which was quite annoying.

Aside from that the rooms themselves were pretty good. Bunk beds in each and reasonable en suite bathrooms which was nice as we didn't have to leave the room to find a bathroom. They give you a pack of bed linen to make your own bed.

The breakfast included was okay, although not a huge selection but enough to keep you going and teas and juices as well. We ate at the restaurant but I wouldn't recommend that.

Some of the staff were a bit funny with us, but some were very helpful so it was a bit hit and miss.

No wifi in the rooms which was really annoying and also one powerpoint in each room so it's difficult to charge your electronics!

You can't hire bikes once you've checked out, even though we left our bags in the lockers which is also a pain.

The location is amazing with all the attractions a short walk or tram ride away, and it feels safe here. Amsterdam in general is a fantastic place to visit and this works really well as a base. It was also really easy to find as they had lots of signs posting you the right way.

For what you pay (if you don't get the problem we had) it's value for money, as it is a hostel after all and works well as a place to crash but there are changes to be made...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paintboxexplosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you had a good time staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback. We are aware of the limited outlets in the rooms. Therefore, you can charge your electronic devices at the reception. WiFi is only available in the common area, as we want to encourage people to come downstairs and meet fellow travelers. We will look into what happened with renting bikes after check out, as you should be able to just rent them. As for the room allocation, sorry for the inconvenience. We will make sure that this doesn't happen in the future. We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and traveling in my own... Found the hostel online which was nice and cheap and fairly close to the centre. Nothing to complain about as i used it just to test my head during the night, would willingly use the hostel again... Thanks for the stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was few months ago in this hostel with friend.
The room was clean, but furnished in really minimal way. The bed are not very confortable and big, anyway the price and the good position of the hostel make Stayok a good solution for the travellers.

Common space are very nice, but maybe the staff should help you more to plan in best way your tripo in amsterdam. The entourage is not always kind with guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay here. We are aware of the furnishing in some rooms, and therefore we planned a big renovation after the summer. We also try to give our guests the best advice on what to do during their stay, but this can always be improved. We will definitely look into this! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing