We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place....Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Ranked #18 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Place....Great Price”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an awesome hostel centrally located. It is clean and has free breakfast. Sure it's not the 4 seasons breakfast, but it's more than adequate to help start your day. The staff is very helpful and they have a nice little bar on the bottom floor where you can go have a cheap drink and meet people. A free walking tour leaves from the lobby daily as well, and you can book any tours or excursions with the staff in the lobby. I stayed in a private room so I can't comment on the experience with other guest, but I surely will be staying here on my return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILUVYERKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    766
    261
    56
    39
See reviews for
118
152
398
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great hostel, well located near the (wonder) Vondel Park and near to everything.
We were two in a room for four and we had a private bathroom, so it was great.
The breakfast is organic and very good.
I strongly recommend this hostel to travellers who travel cheap but with quality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aconc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayokay was a brilliant find - very reasonably priced, good breakfast, and friendly staff. We had a room for four people with our own bathroom and it was fine - clean and functional. People have said it was a bit far out but we didn't really find that and it was also nice to be so close to the park. We hired bikes from the hostel and had a lovely, albeit snowy, ride round. I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theboutiquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with friends on a stag do and have no complaints about the hostel.

The place is clean, secure and our twin room was very spacious.

5 minutes walk away is an area with loads of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. It is about 30 minutes walk up to Dam Square but we tried to end our nights in the area next to us due to how close the hostel is.

Lockers are available to hire for a full day at €2 or they can be hired by the hour at 20c per hour, very handy for late departures like us.

Towels can be bought for €4.50 (to keep) from reception as they are not supplied

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellshillDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Locations is very good, close to Leidseplein. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are good for the price, you can get some rest and get ready for what Amsterdam has to offer. Easy to move from there, it is practically inside the Vondelpark. They have bicycles you can rent for a very reasonable price. The bar is also a good option before going to clubs and other pubs/parties. I'd recommend it for anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viniciuspcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a group of 6 in a private room. Good value to be fair, breakfast included, selection of sliced meats and cheeses, fruit, fresh bread juices and cereal. Easy access to rooms and buildings only problem was it was a bit of a walk from red light, and dam square. We rented bikes for a day and loved if, you soon pick up the road system an it makes everything only 2 minutes away! Overall was a good stay but was a bit far out for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayokay Vondelpark is a little removed from any immediate action due to it's location (bordering the eponymous Vondelpark and down a residential street a little ways from the nearest main road), but don't think that means there's nothing around nearby. Leidseplein is a very short walk away (and also where one of the nearest tram stations is if you're coming from Centraal Station), and you can find all manner of restaurants and nightlife here. Just don't expect a big party to be going on once you get back to the hostel.

Rooms are divided up into three wings with the lobby and bar as sort of a central hub. The ensuite dorm room I was in was of average quality, but wasn't particularly good in any respects. Not all beds had personal lights/plugs, and it could get very hot/stuffy due to the lack of ventilation except for one very small window. Having a sink and shower in the room was very handy. The lockers had no problem fitting my suitcase. There are washers and dryers available for use for 7.50 euros total in one of the wings as well. The bar had very reasonable pricing compared to some of the other restaurants in the area.

Getting to other parts of Amsterdam (including Zuid Station) is relatively easy from the main road, and the free Wi-Fi in the lobby area can be used to get directions on your device of choice before setting out. If you need a place to store your bags after checkout but before leaving, there are lockers available to rent down in the lobby area to store your suitcase.

I definitely don't regret staying here, but I'll probably go with a different spot on a future trip. If you're looking for a place to calm down after partying then this could be a good place, but don't expect too much in the way of amenities beyond the basics.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 367 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Hostelle
#37 of 228 in Amsterdam
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 228 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 228 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing