We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Ranked #20 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

When i booked this place i wanted to stay somewhere away from the red light district so i could sleep if i wasnt going out. It was further away than the website said, was about a 20-30 minutes walk away from the city center and red light district. Definitely still walkable but trams better. Hostel was ok, reception are to chill out was huge, bar was ok, not a bad happy hour, atmosphere wasnt great though, huge hostel so heaps of people staying there but think everyone must have gone to drink at another bar in amsterdam. Rooms were all good nice and big, clean hostel. Not bad value, only complaint it was quite far out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattharper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    684
    238
    49
    36
See reviews for
99
136
354
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caniço, Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazingly located, with public transportation at 5 min walk. Very clean, with cosy common spaces. Breakfast is very good and has a pretty decent variety. Nice bar with late meals and snacks (late in Amsterdam is after 9 p.m.) and also good beers, with fair prices given the Amsterdam context. Staff is very nice. Lots of info on attractions and transportation available at the reception. Towels are available for 4,5€, but as I took my own, I can't say much more about it. You have to lay your sheets on the bed yourself (sitting on bed awaiting your arrival) and you might get some noisy neighbours, but hey, it's an hostel... I had a private room with a bunk bed, toilet and bathroom for 20€ more. Although the room is small, it's enough if you don't plan to stay in it all the time. There's a table, 2 chairs and 2 lockers (padlocks available for 1€ at the reception). Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were taking a group of young rugby players on tour to Amsterdam, we wanted something fairly cheap to keep the cost down for the boys so we booked Stayokay.
we were obviously worried as to what we would get for our money: but we should not have worried at all. The place was very clean, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.
The staff could not do enough to make your stay a happy one and the breakfast was better than expected.
I would go again and would recommend this type of hostel to anyone

Room Tip: they have rooms for 2-4-6 & 8 people to share thus keeping the cost to a minimium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place for a budget stay, for couples, friends or families. Rooms are basic but adquate, warm and clean. Reception is very helpful, reasonably priced lockers for large luggage. Bar is friendly and cheap. Great place to meet other travellers. Breakfast is very good, good choice and hearty

Room Tip: All rooms are quite basic, and the hostel is located in a residential area opposite a park, so prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb_happytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I stayed here mid October 2012 and were very happy with it. The room was spacious, even though there were 6 of us in it! The beds were comfortable and the toilet and shower facilities were clean, the only downside to them being that the sink was outside of the toilet and in the main room near the door. The breakfast was nice and we found it to be a good location to wander around, particularly as it's right next to Vondelpark. All in all a really nice hostel, with very friendly staff and a fun, relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ok but staff a little slow and now real internet.. Ok brecky but finishies sharp at 10am, a little pricy for a small bed smelly tolet in 20 person dorm, this city can do better! Breakfast cafe was rubbish and bread was micro waved,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewkula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the third time I've stayed at the STOK Vondelpark and its still great.
Clean, safe,modern. What more could you want? Hotels in Amsterdam are expensive and not all that great. So you share a room with someone? Its a HOSTEL.
The STOK chain is very professional, I have never stayed at a bad one. This hostel is best for families and tour groups. The free breakfast is excellent. The facilities are top-notch. The location is perfect for the Leidiesplien and the Rijks and VanGogh museums. Centraal Sation is just minutes away by tram.
Some complain that the STOK has no soul or "vibe". If you want soul and vibe...stay in a run-down tenement near the RLD and have drunks puke on you all night after thier reefer is gone.
But I like a good nights sleep and a hot shower in a clean room with a locker.

Room Tip: choose the 4 person room instead of the dorm if you value privacy over Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelFamily_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing