We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So Glad We Chose Hotel Van de Kasteelen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cityden Museum District City Suites to your Saves list
Cityden Museum District City Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So Glad We Chose Hotel Van de Kasteelen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

Although the ownership of this highly-rated hotel has recently changed, we can't imagine that the quality of the Van de Kasteelen has gone down. We absolutely loved this hotel and doubt there could be a better one in Amsterdam for the money. From the moment we arrived and were able to check in hours early, until we checked out and were given a royal, early-morning send-off by owner Patricia and her French Bulldog, Lumi, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The hotel is spotlessly clean; the bathrooms relatively large (by European standards); the breakfasts quite good (with cooked-to-order eggs and pancakes and the usual breads, cheeses, meats, fruits and yogurts). The location is perfect if you are interested in museums, concerts, dining and shopping.

We especially enjoyed the many good ethnic restaurants and bakeries within walking distance. Recommended are Balti House [Indian], Szechuan Kitchen [Chinese], Sari Citra [Indonesian and very casual], Cafe Loetje [great steaks], and, practically next door to the Concertgebouw, Bodega Keyzer [expensive but worth it]. Excellent bakeries are everywhere; we particularly enjoyed Bakken met Passie at 51-53 Albert Cuypstraat.

A few tips: The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra gives free concerts at 12:30 pm on most Wednesdays (get in line early). One of the best outdoor markets in Amsterdam is just around the corner and up a few blocks on Albert Cuypstraat. Vondelpark is a great place for a picnic. There is no clock in the room; but you will happily be given a wake-up call.

Give Lumi an extra hug for us. He's a love.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, staff, reasonable rates
  • Disliked — Limited closet space
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank rag714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

What a gem of a hotel. The location couldn't be better -- close to the museums, close to the Concertgebouw, close to restaurants of all flavors and prices, with trams all around. It's on a quiet side street, the new owners are hugely hospitable (and experienced in the hotel business), and the property has been completely renovated. The breakfast selections are varied and tasty. I was traveling alone, and as is often the case in Europe, my single room was small small small -- kind of like a little stateroom on an ocean liner. It was, however, well-equipped and totally comfortable, but who stays in his or her room all day anyhow. If you don't need the overly luxurious amenities of a city-center, four-star, high-priced major hotel, stay at the Kasteelen. I guarantee you'll be glad you did.

  • Liked — The Owners, the location, the breakfast, the value.
  • Disliked — The single room was a bit small.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

Had a lovely three night stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located, a few minutes walk from the tramstops and about 5 mins to the Van Gogh Museum. The hotel is on a quiet side street and it is very clean, smart and comfortable. Breakfast good.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coomboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

This is a truly wonderful little hotel and the other reviews are accurate, but here's some more information. The hotel is under new (Oct 2006) management and the new people seem to be just as friendly and helpful as the previous owners. Even though it's a small hotel, there's a good-sized elevator! This is really nice when you're on the third floor and you've got lots of heavy luggage. As for complaints - the only big one is that the phone system wouldn't work with our AT&T calling card and there was no way around it. Since this was a vacation, I was secretly happy about this but it would be hard to stay in the hotel if I were on a business trip. The neighborhood is really nice and close to the museums, trams, and tour boats. The room I shared with my wife was small, but that happens in European cities. Everything was very clean and I was glad we found this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff & location
  • Disliked — Phone system
  • Tips/Secrets — Lumi (the French Bulldog) loves to be scratched behind the ears
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank nhunixguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

I do agree with previous reviews. I stayed in a single room which was very, very small, but with everything you needed such as t.v, mini-fridge, phone, desk. The bathroom was a good size for one person, and modern design. The public rooms were charming, and everywhere was so clean. All furniture and fittings were better than I expected for a two star hotel.Breakfast was fine including eggs cooked as you wanted them.The hosts were friendly letting me leave my luggage there before and after checkout. Great location, 10 minutes walk to Van Gogh Musem, and further 5-10 minutes to the other museums and canal bus stop.

  • Liked — Clean, pleasant atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Bed too soft
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rozmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my girlfriend for a weekend break and the whole experience was fantastic. For the money this hotel is the best ive ever stayed in, 80euros for relative luxury! The breakfast was lovely, the couple who ran it were very friendly and made a fantastic recommendation for an Indonesian restuarant, which was just 10mins walk, the location is brilliant a short walk to the van Gogh museum and a short tram ride to the city centre. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, book now before it is too late!

  • Liked — Value for money/luxury
  • Disliked — nothing at all, it was faultless.
  • Tips/Secrets — book now before it fills up!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sonnyjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

My wife and I began a European vacation with a couple of nights in Amsterdam, and this B&B hotel turned out to be a wonderful place to start off from. Everything is relative, so bear in mind that lodging in that city is simply more expensive than you might expect. And amenities you take for granted elsewhere, like air conditioning and bureau drawers, are not necessarily standard features. Having researched the situation thoroughly, I can definitely say the rate was a bargain in comparison to better-known properties. This hotel has two great advantages: a quiet location, and friendly owners. After a couple of days in Amsterdam, you'll come to appreciate both of those aspects! And breakfast was indeed very good.

  • Liked — Quiet location, personal service.
  • Disliked — Ventilation could be improved, shower needs full surround, TV should be bigger.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#168 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#88 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#135 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#215 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing