We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #157 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modern Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked a comfort room. Room had been tastefully renovated. The room was quite tight for two people, but we managed to get our luggage and ourselves in there! There was a cupboard for storage and a bar fridge.

The bathroom was small, which was fine, however, the shower did not have a screen or curtain on one side so it meant that the entire bathroom floor got wet each time we used the shower. Housekeeping left plenty of towels each day, so we were able to mop up the floor.

It is in a quiet area of Muesumplein and we did not hear any street noise during our stay. We were able to walk to all of the attractions from the hotel but there is a tram stop only a few minutes away if you feel like taking it easy.

The two ladies that checked us in were really helpful also!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in advance of our relocation to Amsterdam. When we move we hope to live in either Jordaan or De Pijp, both of which are little more than a short walk or tram ride from here. The city centre is also only 10 minutes by tram, making this quiet street a perfect base for any kind of Amsterdam holiday.

The staff are very friendly and checked us in quickly upon arrival, showing us on a map how to get to various locations. They have also helped with a couple of queries during our stay.

We chose a double deluxe room with king size bed and as everyone says the rooms are small. Ours though is very comfortable, although the floor and bed are wooden and tend to squeak. We might be able to answer concerns someone else had about machine noise behind the wall of room 31 - we were in 32 and it was probably the air conditioner which is mounted to the shared wall and absolutely essential during this week of hot, humid weather!

We were able to easily visit Albert Cuyp Market, the rijks, stedelijk and van Gogh museums from here, and as stated the centre and jordaan and canal district are all a few minutes away by trams that come every few minutes all day.

Breakfast was expensive but satisfying with a selection of meats and cheeses, croissants, rolls, cereals, fruit and eggs. Coffee and tea are also included with breakfast, but at other times cost ?1.50. Throughout the day, Heineken, wine and cola are available and a couple of other options, each at ?3.

Our room was cleared daily which is nice - the bed sheets were tidied, towels replaced as required, and the bathroom restocked. They also give 2 nespresso pods per day but we found them to be very bitter and so didn't bother with them.

We recommend this as a great place to stay, and plan to use the chains other hotel near the Jordaan when we come for our next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We occupied 5 rooms with 10 people recently. The beds were great and bathrooms clean and modern. Great neighborhood within walking distance to so many city sites and museums. But, the very best thing about this hotel is the people who own it and those who work there. Phenny and Alcides were dears to us and made us feel at home and welcomed. And they make great coffee on the Nepresso machine! Would stay there again for sure and would invite them to visit me too! Thank you for starting our trip out right!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PidgeArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stylish boutique hotel in a green leafy neighbourhood. Loved the location, close to the museums, great restaurants nearby and you could walk to Albert Cuyp Market. Much preferred this than being in the centre. The rooms are small and we had some water problems in our bathroom. The drain was slow in the shower, so it was literally a "wet room" for most of our stay. And when they had a slower in the room above, water would drip down from our ceiling, so they must have had a similar issue up there. But actually everywhere we stayed in Holland had slow drains, so maybe wet rooms aren't a great design idea here. And the charge for a coffee in the lobby when you are paying over £130 a night, seems a bit mean. But the staff were so nice, they make you forget these sorts of flaws and we genuinely had an enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: We had the midsize room, and it was still pretty small, so if you want space go for the largest opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at Cityden Museum District City Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for nice and long review.
I remember there was a problem with the drain from the shower.
The plumber has fixed it.
we are looking forward to meet you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We arrived early and were accommodated straight away but right from the start we noticed the squeaky floorboards. We stayed on the top floor. in a Deluxe room which was tiny but I assume large by this hotel standards. The Bathroom lighting strobed so much i thought I was going to fit if I stayed in there any longer.Breakfast was good and nice environment. Bed was soft and pillows luxurious.But the floor boards squeaked at ever step. The TV didn't work at all and WiFi became patchy and had to be reset a couple of times but worked reasonably well otherwise. Good neighborhood close to Museums and trams and was a quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at Cityden Museum District City Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for the nice reponse.
Internet connection is fixed.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a start I should give credits for good things:
Location was a bit off center, but close to main museums and within easy reach to trams. Street was nice and quiet, so I was able to keep windows open all night. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi worked everywhere and was free of charge. Breakfast didn't have large variety (no warm meal), but had very good nespresso coffee and freshly baked croissants. So real bliss in the morning.
Not so great was the size of the room. Even though I knew, I booked a small room, I wasn't ready for this. It was small double room, size of a bathroom, where next to small double bed were 2 cubicles - toilet and shower - which shared one glass door, meaning either one was open while you were using another. No huge problem for me as I was travelling alone this time, but can't imagine, how two adults could possibly share the premises. Small sink was right next to the room's door, additionally there was space for closet (incl safe), small table and chair and nothing else. I struggled to find space for my small luggage. Very small flat TV had poor picture quality, so there was no use of it, even though some channels were in English. There was also constant humming noise behind the wall (room 31), which stopped around midnight. Air conditioning was working, but had little effect, so I switched it off and opened the window.
Generally it is not bad place to stay, but be aware of these small rooms, they really aren't suitable for 2 persons. And as it wasn't cheap, I see it as low value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms x2 and x3 are bigger than x1 and x4 on every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at Cityden Museum District City Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for your response.
the small comfort room is indeed small with 12 m2.
The roomrate depends on a lot of things. It can change every day.
I think amsterdam was busy when you visit us .
i promise we will give you a free upgrade when you vist us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Given that the main service which is expected is that room conditions should assist sleep and failure in this respect means that all of the hotel's positive aspects count for little. Room 1 was a double comfort room and behind a wall, there seemed to be a refrigeration unit which maintained a constant humming sound and sleep was difficult during each of our 3 nights. Next day, we twice mentioned our concern at reception and we asked for either another room or if the equipment could be switched off at night. We were offered a smaller room, which we declined, and we were told that someone would check the equipment. Reception staff were polite and appeared to be helpful. Phenny, was friendly and efficient when we booked in and also very helpful at breakfast . The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was sufficient and of good quality -- probably worth 10 Euros. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area; close to museums and ideal for the 16 or 24 tram -- Vondelpark is a 10 minute walk away. We would have been happy with this hotel except for the constant machine noise--- as it is we would not consider a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forsyth322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at Cityden Museum District City Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room during your stay. Reception forwarded your complainant immediately.
We try our best to have this problem fixed as soon as possible, as the sleep of our guest is very important to us!
I also want to thank you for the positive feedback of our receptionist Phenny, which we will forward immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#212 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing