We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Typical Dutch minimalism” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #177 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Typical Dutch minimalism”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having known Amsterdam for many years, I wanted a hotel according to very specific criteria: nice, small, secluded and near the major museums. NL hotel fitted perfectly the requirements. It is a typical Dutch B&B, with all features of being an Amsterdam hotel: space is the most expensive commodity. We booked the room as "small double room" (the only available at the time of booking) and it was small to the point of being just a glorified cupboard. Nevertheless, it had everything, including high speed wi fi. The location of the hotel is perfect - next to the Museumplein for all of us museum buffs and also close enough to the city center so that one can have a healthy walk to the Dam and back.
The downside of our stay was the breakfast - it was not included (which we knew in advance and were willing to pay for it extra) and it was far to expensive for the variety of food offered (10 EUR per person for rolls, croissants, spreads and some salami).
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam immensely and the hotel was just fine for those couple of nights.

Room Tip: When you book a room, don't go for "small double room". It is far too small for two pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvetlanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    104
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Convenient location within walking distance to museums & zentrum. Hotel has been renovated since I was last there in 2010. Rooms are small but cozy & nicely decorated. The ladies at the reception were very friendly & helpful. I stayed in Rm21 which faces the street. There was early morning street construction going on on the two mornings I wanted to sleep. The bathroom was very small and had an open shower with very little water pressure (more like a trickle). After you shower there is water everywhere on the floor. The bed was comfortable. The wall mounted tv was placed at a bad angle so from the bed (which is the only place to watch tv) you cannot adjust the position for center angle viewing. I found the room to be quite dark even with the lights on so more strategically placed lighting is required. There was a room safe I never used but adequate closet space. It was nice overall but the shower needs to be addressed

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianwooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

+
fresh breakfast
clean rooms
good, firm beds
Nespresso machine in the room

-
too expensive
noisy hotel
breakfast room is too small
very very small rooms
not enough water pressure in the shower
clumsy service first night
heating was broken (and not fixed after notifying the reception)
arrogant service last day (guy at reception was absolutely rude and unfriendly)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at Cityden Museum District City Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the NL-Hotel Museumplein and for writing a review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the service we provide. Your opinion is very important to us, as we want to improve, and therefore your review will be discussed in our meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is well located in Amsterdam, rooms very very small but clean, bathroom less than
3 m2, noisy, you hear the street and trams.
Breakfast was not good, no fruits at all and breakfastroom much too small.
For what I had to pay ( Eur 110) much too expensive

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with another couple (late 20s/early 30s) and LOVED our time here. The contemporary appointments were interesting and fun. Our room had a big window that opened up to backyards of other homes which gave it a neighborhood feel that I enjoyed. The room is small, that is Europe for you. The television has many English-speaking channels, which I found rare in my travels. The bed was very comfortable, providing me with the best sleep I had on the whole trip.

The breakfast (I believe it was 9 Euro) was well worth it. A Nespresso coffee machine with numerous choices; the best I had the whole trip. The breakfast included meat and cheese assortments along with pastries and croissants. Yogurts, boiled eggs, juices, etc. We ate here all 3 mornings we were there.

The hotel location is on a neighborhood street so it is quiet, but a stone's throw from the museums and the opera house. Also an easy walk to many dining/shopping options.

Amy at the front desk was attentive and caring -- superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great time at NL-Hotel Museumplein 30th Sept - 4th Oct. It was perfect for a short break. We staying in a deluxe double room on the second floor - no problems with noise, and the room was beautifully decorated. We got a train and tram from the airport to the hotel, but the friendly receptionist advised us to get a bus back - this was only 30 minutes from just outside the Concertgebouw (which is 2-3 minutes walk away) and only 3.90euro so if you want a cheap and easy route to/from the hotel-airport, go for the bus!

Very close to the Vincent Van Gogh museum, Concertgebouw (go on Wednesday at 12:30 for a free show!) and the Rijksmuseum. We are a young couple in our twenties, but felt safe yet central - can only be a good thing! Back to the hotel - clean, friendly, comfortable - only 5-10 minutes walk and you're in the centre near Leidesplein/Remembrandtplein. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room - it's not that much extra and from looking at other reviews, definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbrown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The girl at the reception is extremely helpfull and very nice. I believe she is Thai and speaks good English and also Dutch. She really cares about the customers and has always a smile on her face ! Even after 1 year, she remembered us as customers.

Room Tip: I believe there is one room without a window ! avoid that one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuifje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#242 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing