We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location..Tiny Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #174 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location..Tiny Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in the comfort rooms which is one of the rooms in the attic. Though the hotel location is great and the staff is friendly, however the room we had was claustrophobic. Only one person can stand at a time. I would have rather spent a bit more money and got a more spacious room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank VinL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    103
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
36
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

otel is near to museumplein (two minutes by walking). Staff was very helpfull and friendly.
But hotel room was realy small and not clean. Cabinet was dusty, bathroom was very small and useless, when you take a shower, everywhere gets wet.
We stay at room number one which is near to reception, it was too noisy. We have a balcony-garden which you can enter from breakfast saloon, it was not comfortable.

It was ok, but too expensive. If you're a museum addict and do not have a child, you can choose this room. You do not feel like a tourist, there is a good bakery near the hotel (simon's) and market, you can take something from there and eat at museumplein's park.

You can come to hotel from airport by bus in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juvenila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This 18 room boutique property was once a typical home, located in a leafy, upscale neighborhood right by the Concertgebouw (concert hall), the Rijksmuseum, and the Van Gogh museum. It's quiet and perfect for culture-lovers. My room (double for single use) was the smallest hotel room I've ever had, yet it lacked for nothing. Appointments were excellent: AC, WiFi, flat screen TV, ample closet and storage, safe, small fridge, good lighting. Tiny bathroom, ingeniously designed with everything you need. A very nice buffet breakfast (10 Euro) is served in their pretty breakfast room. The staff is extra-accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. NOTE: There are no phones in the rooms, and the reception desk is open from 7 AM to 9 PM only. In case of emergency, there's a night porter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelInsuranceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got a very small room but it was nice and clean and cosy :) We only stayed for 3 nights so it was good enough for us!
The service was great, they cleaned up everyday and made the bed. Very helpful and they also gave us a map of the city telling us special places were we should go and so on. Will definitly stay there again, if longer, a bigger room i a must though.

Room Tip: Room 41 was really small but modern and clean! It was on the fourth floor. Nice elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and it didn't disappoint.
Arriving mid morning at Schipol we caught the 197 connexion bus to museumplein.A short walk bought us to the hotel with the intention of leaving our luggage and hitting the city but on arrival our room was ready so we were able to check in.
We had booked a deluxe room with breakfast and found our room ( 12) on the 1st floor situated at front of the hotel.Yes the room is on the small size but this is Amsterdam,however there is all you need and more! Lovely little balcony overlooking quiet street, nespresso coffee machine, blackout curtains and very comfy bed.Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, yoghurt,fruit juice,cold meats, cheese, bread,rolls,pastries( so fresh and lovely)tea and coffee.
Our tip? Hit the museums early ,enjoy a picnic in Vondelpark then visit the sights in the main part of city.Most enjoyable surprises would be the Scheepvaartmuseum and the museum of handbags ( have afternoon tea here in it's beautiful surroundings), the men will enjoy the building if nothing else!
The photos don't lie, the hotel is as charming as it appears. A special mention is required regarding the staff, they were all so attentive and helpful we especially enjoyed our chats with Robert in the evenings when we were enjoying the lovely nespresso coffee (all free ) in the dining area. He gave us an interesting insight into everyday life in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel in Amsterdam. It is located close to the museums and is only a short tram ride from the city centre. Tucked away off the main road, it feels like you are actually living in Amsterdam rather than a tourist. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and its small size is one of its biggest qualities. The rooms are good and feel homely. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is very nice too. The breakfast was yum (the coffee was amazing) and the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had chosen this hotel a month before our trip because it was located close to all the major museums. I liked the property a lot, there are several nice cafes and restaurants in the area and the Stedelijk, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum are all within five-ten minutes walk. Several tram lines travel close to the hotel, making the rest of the city very accessible, we had taken the IAmsterdam card that gave us free local transport and access to all the museums as well.
The room was well, smallish, as we were on the top floor and the sloping roof was a slight issue. Service staff fixed a loose sink on the first night, leaving us wondering why this hadn't been done before we had checked in. The WiFi was relatively fast albeit patchy in some parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KushanMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#158 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#91 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#242 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing