We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location is great, but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #159 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is great, but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

otel is near to museumplein (two minutes by walking). Staff was very helpfull and friendly.
But hotel room was realy small and not clean. Cabinet was dusty, bathroom was very small and useless, when you take a shower, everywhere gets wet.
We stay at room number one which is near to reception, it was too noisy. We have a balcony-garden which you can enter from breakfast saloon, it was not comfortable.

It was ok, but too expensive. If you're a museum addict and do not have a child, you can choose this room. You do not feel like a tourist, there is a good bakery near the hotel (simon's) and market, you can take something from there and eat at museumplein's park.

You can come to hotel from airport by bus in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juvenila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This 18 room boutique property was once a typical home, located in a leafy, upscale neighborhood right by the Concertgebouw (concert hall), the Rijksmuseum, and the Van Gogh museum. It's quiet and perfect for culture-lovers. My room (double for single use) was the smallest hotel room I've ever had, yet it lacked for nothing. Appointments were excellent: AC, WiFi, flat screen TV, ample closet and storage, safe, small fridge, good lighting. Tiny bathroom, ingeniously designed with everything you need. A very nice buffet breakfast (10 Euro) is served in their pretty breakfast room. The staff is extra-accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. NOTE: There are no phones in the rooms, and the reception desk is open from 7 AM to 9 PM only. In case of emergency, there's a night porter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelInsuranceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got a very small room but it was nice and clean and cosy :) We only stayed for 3 nights so it was good enough for us!
The service was great, they cleaned up everyday and made the bed. Very helpful and they also gave us a map of the city telling us special places were we should go and so on. Will definitly stay there again, if longer, a bigger room i a must though.

Room Tip: Room 41 was really small but modern and clean! It was on the fourth floor. Nice elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and it didn't disappoint.
Arriving mid morning at Schipol we caught the 197 connexion bus to museumplein.A short walk bought us to the hotel with the intention of leaving our luggage and hitting the city but on arrival our room was ready so we were able to check in.
We had booked a deluxe room with breakfast and found our room ( 12) on the 1st floor situated at front of the hotel.Yes the room is on the small size but this is Amsterdam,however there is all you need and more! Lovely little balcony overlooking quiet street, nespresso coffee machine, blackout curtains and very comfy bed.Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, yoghurt,fruit juice,cold meats, cheese, bread,rolls,pastries( so fresh and lovely)tea and coffee.
Our tip? Hit the museums early ,enjoy a picnic in Vondelpark then visit the sights in the main part of city.Most enjoyable surprises would be the Scheepvaartmuseum and the museum of handbags ( have afternoon tea here in it's beautiful surroundings), the men will enjoy the building if nothing else!
The photos don't lie, the hotel is as charming as it appears. A special mention is required regarding the staff, they were all so attentive and helpful we especially enjoyed our chats with Robert in the evenings when we were enjoying the lovely nespresso coffee (all free ) in the dining area. He gave us an interesting insight into everyday life in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel in Amsterdam. It is located close to the museums and is only a short tram ride from the city centre. Tucked away off the main road, it feels like you are actually living in Amsterdam rather than a tourist. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and its small size is one of its biggest qualities. The rooms are good and feel homely. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is very nice too. The breakfast was yum (the coffee was amazing) and the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had chosen this hotel a month before our trip because it was located close to all the major museums. I liked the property a lot, there are several nice cafes and restaurants in the area and the Stedelijk, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum are all within five-ten minutes walk. Several tram lines travel close to the hotel, making the rest of the city very accessible, we had taken the IAmsterdam card that gave us free local transport and access to all the museums as well.
The room was well, smallish, as we were on the top floor and the sloping roof was a slight issue. Service staff fixed a loose sink on the first night, leaving us wondering why this hadn't been done before we had checked in. The WiFi was relatively fast albeit patchy in some parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KushanMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This lovely hotel is right by the Museumplein, a quarter mile from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh and Stedelijk. It's not on the very main drag, but on a smaller, very safe side street. (Everywhere feels safe here!)

Every single person on the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, attentive to every detail without being intrusive. There are coupons and vouchers for attractions and the staff makes very good recommendations and gives accurate directions.

Good restaurants are everywhere-the College Hotel, two blocks away is wonderful for a fancy dinner or a drink and snack, Toussaint, about a mile away (on Toussaint Street) is wonderful and we ate at least two meals at Pompas, a Spanish inspired restaurant a quarter mile away. Loetje is about two blocks down in another direction, popular with locals and packed every night.

Breakfast is lovely. Juices, water and milk, warm hard boiled eggs and cheeses and meats, rolls and breads and fresh fruit and coffee-tons of coffee. They have a Nespresso machine (this makes wonderful coffee, espresso and cappuccino, hot water and steamed milk). Honey is also available for tea or coffee. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day, breakfast begins at 7, ends at 10 and is an hour later on weekends. The coffee area closes at 9PM. Seats are comfortable and there is a banquette that runs the length of the tables with chairs on the opposite side.

There is also a Nespresso machine in each room. When we were there they didn't have instructions on how to use it, but I overheard the staff talking about that, so by the time you stay there it will probably be explained.

Our room was number 43, in the back of the building. It was quiet with a lovely view of the street below and the rooftops across the street, and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was tiny-just room for a bed and a yoga mat, but the space was used so economically it worked-like a boat. Small desk, but large enough for a laptop or for writing. Good sized armoire with six shelves and hangers. Wonderful hot water. Wonderful. Hot!!!!! Housekeeping was meticulous-we came home to a fresh made bed, clean towels, toiletries and a clean room.

It was cold while we were there. It rained every single day-not just rain, but downpours. Even the Dutch were soggy. The radiator warmed the room nicely. The windows were large and let in lots of light. If you wanted dark (it stayed light until almost 10!) there were blackout curtains that worked very well.

Bathroom fixtures were a little silly. The handles were cylindrical and fit inside each other, so it was hard to turn once you got soapy. The shower is one that isn't completely enclosed and it's glass. It is, however, part of a tub, so that's a plus for me. The open shower isn't my preference, but it was fine and the water was hot enough that the bathroom was warm.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. We loved it!

Pros:
fantastically friendly, attentive and informative staff
hot water!!!!
clean
really, really, really comfortable bed
good breakfast, wide variety-fresh fruit, juices, breads, meat, cheese, egg, coffee and tea
coffee and tea all day
comfortable, welcoming common area
free wifi
Location! Location! close to museums, restaurants, music venues
nespresso machine in room
as if that isn't enough........
great design touches - the interior was designed specifically for them-wallpaper and all.
artwork by local artists-some very good stuff, and it's for sale, though we were never pressured to buy
Cons:
silly shower fixtures,
open shower

Room Tip: Our room was number 43, in the back of the building. It was quiet with a lovely view of the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#160 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#211 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing