We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay here now if we could!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #215 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This lovely hotel is right by the Museumplein, a quarter mile from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh and Stedelijk. It's not on the very main drag, but on a smaller, very safe side street. (Everywhere feels safe here!)

Every single person on the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, attentive to every detail without being intrusive. There are coupons and vouchers for attractions and the staff makes very good recommendations and gives accurate directions.

Good restaurants are everywhere-the College Hotel, two blocks away is wonderful for a fancy dinner or a drink and snack, Toussaint, about a mile away (on Toussaint Street) is wonderful and we ate at least two meals at Pompas, a Spanish inspired restaurant a quarter mile away. Loetje is about two blocks down in another direction, popular with locals and packed every night.

Breakfast is lovely. Juices, water and milk, warm hard boiled eggs and cheeses and meats, rolls and breads and fresh fruit and coffee-tons of coffee. They have a Nespresso machine (this makes wonderful coffee, espresso and cappuccino, hot water and steamed milk). Honey is also available for tea or coffee. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day, breakfast begins at 7, ends at 10 and is an hour later on weekends. The coffee area closes at 9PM. Seats are comfortable and there is a banquette that runs the length of the tables with chairs on the opposite side.

There is also a Nespresso machine in each room. When we were there they didn't have instructions on how to use it, but I overheard the staff talking about that, so by the time you stay there it will probably be explained.

Our room was number 43, in the back of the building. It was quiet with a lovely view of the street below and the rooftops across the street, and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was tiny-just room for a bed and a yoga mat, but the space was used so economically it worked-like a boat. Small desk, but large enough for a laptop or for writing. Good sized armoire with six shelves and hangers. Wonderful hot water. Wonderful. Hot!!!!! Housekeeping was meticulous-we came home to a fresh made bed, clean towels, toiletries and a clean room.

It was cold while we were there. It rained every single day-not just rain, but downpours. Even the Dutch were soggy. The radiator warmed the room nicely. The windows were large and let in lots of light. If you wanted dark (it stayed light until almost 10!) there were blackout curtains that worked very well.

Bathroom fixtures were a little silly. The handles were cylindrical and fit inside each other, so it was hard to turn once you got soapy. The shower is one that isn't completely enclosed and it's glass. It is, however, part of a tub, so that's a plus for me. The open shower isn't my preference, but it was fine and the water was hot enough that the bathroom was warm.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. We loved it!

Pros:
fantastically friendly, attentive and informative staff
hot water!!!!
clean
really, really, really comfortable bed
good breakfast, wide variety-fresh fruit, juices, breads, meat, cheese, egg, coffee and tea
coffee and tea all day
comfortable, welcoming common area
free wifi
Location! Location! close to museums, restaurants, music venues
nespresso machine in room
as if that isn't enough........
great design touches - the interior was designed specifically for them-wallpaper and all.
artwork by local artists-some very good stuff, and it's for sale, though we were never pressured to buy
Cons:
silly shower fixtures,
open shower

Room Tip: Our room was number 43, in the back of the building. It was quiet with a lovely view of the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 339 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

There's a reason one survey company found that hotel customers' emotional connection with their lodging rose or fell on interactions with staff members. Staff makes the difference between a hotel visit that's as comfortable as a feather bed with servants rubbing you down with Cristal and waving palm fronds over your furrowed brow, or one that feels like you're enduring an 18-hour flight in an economy-class airline seat when bathroom's broken.

That's why the NL-Hotel Museumplein ultimately was a reasonable-priced haven in a city where the best hotels have a cost the 1% can afford but only if they fire one of the butlers first, or decide to rent a yacht instead of buy.

First, as its name implies, the hotel's set right next to the Museumplien, meaning it's within 15 minutes' walk to the Stedelijk Museum, the Van Gogh museum, the Rijksmuseum, and Vondelpark. It's also near several outstanding restaurants, including Cafe Pompa, Cafe Toussaint, and the College Hotel. If you want to save money and shop at a market, an Albert Heijn supermarket is just a few steps away from the Stedelijk.

With all of the city's offerings (pot, half-naked girls in windows and, oh, yeah, Vermeers and Rembrandts you can go visit like they're a next door neighbor), you may not spend a great deal of time in your room. But if you do, you'll enjoy the most comfortable bed I've ever had the pleasure to drop into an inebriated slumber on. While rooms are small -it's Europe, people, not the Grand Canyon- the diminutive size is compensated for by the stylish design and amenities. The room had four cabinets for storage and a safe; good lighting (including reading lights next to your bed); a bathroom with decent space for toiletries, excellent water pressure, and a built-in hairdryer. The beds have enough open space beneath them to slide your suitcase in. There's a coffee machine to satisfy your 24-hour-a-day coffee jones.The housekeeping staff is outstanding. Free wifi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel.

Downstairs, the quirky design reflects the hotel's relaxed charm. Cut-out figures adorn the front window, while a photo mosaic of Vermeer's Girl with the Pearl Earring (great,though not as luminous as The Kitchen Maid, but that's not important right now) adorns the eating area, along with a lovely selection of Delft plates arranged on the wall.

Speaking of eating, the morning breakfast was substantive, including cereals, croissants and other pastries, fruits, sliced cold cuts, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, orange and apple juices and coffee. Bottled waters and sodas were available were purchase too, if you want something to take with you when you leave for the day.

All of that would have earned the hotel several stars, but the staff was the gild on this lily. Fun, friendly, always willing to find a restaurant for you or map out how to get from point A to point B, concerned over any little problem that crops up, the staff, collectively became one of NL-Hotel Museumplein's truest attractions -and one of the best reasons to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasPappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

On arrival this hotel looks nice - it is a boutique hotel in a very nice street and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. When we went up to the room it was small but this would have been ok if there was not such a horrible smell of sewage in the bathroom, plus the sink etc were dirty with old toothpaste. We went down to reception and asked to change rooms, the receptionist was sympathetic but said they were fully booked so tried to call her manager. When she could not get through she said she thought we could get a refund. So we went and collected our bags and came downstairs. The receptionist was on the phone to her manager who was being very rude to her and saying she should not have said we could get a refund and that we could move to a smaller room, although I don't know how that would be possible. we said we had had enough and wanted to just go now, but the manager came on the phone and argued and argued, and then said he could get a plumber, and then shouted at the receptionist again and then agreed to give us a refund minus 15% which he said went to the online booking company. At that point we were too tired to argue and were just relieved to be leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Londontraveller465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

the location is fine, near the museums, plenty of good restaurants and great shopping !
the rooms are VERY small and extremely expensive !! (more than 200 eur/night for roughly 16 sqm). breakfast is just so so.... next time i will look for a better value for money !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriele290858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely residential area, really close to the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. There is a large Albert Heijn supermarket not far away either. The rooms are small, but well equipped, with free wireless throughout. I would definitely stay again, staff were friendly and welcoming. Parking may be difficult, but it is free on the street on Sundays.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank euroetraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, cosy, personal approach and in a good location. Breakfast is plenty and nice. However be aware of the house structure in Amsterdam (super narrow houses) and so is the hotel. The room being very cosy and nice - however very small. Hardly space to move or put your suitcase. Same for the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maren-Maus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located in Museum Quarter, the nicest and quitest area in Amsterdam if only you haven't arrived for drug-and-girls experience. When in the morning I went out and made first step on the street, I've stopped and stand there admiring the surroundings for a couple of minutes.

By the way, to get to the tram's stop which is heading to the Central Railway Station you should go to the left from the hotel, then turn right and pass another 100 meteres.

The front desk is served by one guy, so, if you are not the one to check-in or check-out it may take quite some time. At the same time, the guys (or at least the one who was working on February 14) were very friendly and helpful.

Before coming to the hotel I've asked to buy some flowers, and as a result I've got two bouquets since the one which was delivered from the flower shop seemed not that beautiful to the guy on the front desk. Thus, he managed to get another one without billing any additional penny, which was much appreciated.

The "restaurant" is located right behind the front desk. In fact it is a small room for 12-15 persons. The choice is quite limited, but it is standard for small European 3-star hotels.

The room is really small, but very clean and nice. Same goes to bathroom. The thing I really didn't like were the pillows: they were so big that it was practically impossible to sleep. But that was the only inconvenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#182 of 373 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,081 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#114 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $146 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing