We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #184 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located in Museum Quarter, the nicest and quitest area in Amsterdam if only you haven't arrived for drug-and-girls experience. When in the morning I went out and made first step on the street, I've stopped and stand there admiring the surroundings for a couple of minutes.

By the way, to get to the tram's stop which is heading to the Central Railway Station you should go to the left from the hotel, then turn right and pass another 100 meteres.

The front desk is served by one guy, so, if you are not the one to check-in or check-out it may take quite some time. At the same time, the guys (or at least the one who was working on February 14) were very friendly and helpful.

Before coming to the hotel I've asked to buy some flowers, and as a result I've got two bouquets since the one which was delivered from the flower shop seemed not that beautiful to the guy on the front desk. Thus, he managed to get another one without billing any additional penny, which was much appreciated.

The "restaurant" is located right behind the front desk. In fact it is a small room for 12-15 persons. The choice is quite limited, but it is standard for small European 3-star hotels.

The room is really small, but very clean and nice. Same goes to bathroom. The thing I really didn't like were the pillows: they were so big that it was practically impossible to sleep. But that was the only inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    106
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
37
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel, a mere 5-minute walk from the Museumplein. A tram station is located nearby (a 2-minute walk). The room was small, but nicely designed. The breakfast was excellent! The hotel is located in a quiet area so nobody will bother you at night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_donne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

So I really LOVED this hotel.

I'm a self-confessed slave to nice design, beautiful-ness, slightly and romantic ideals, and quirkiness and this hotel appealed to everything I love!

I was sold by the funky looking decor and pretty chairs based on the pictures on the Internet and was slightly nervous that it would turn out to be clever photography... But it wasn't.

So, some of the visual things that I loved about this hotel to give you a feel for it:

- the quirky chairs in reception (as pictured)
- the net curtains with the silhouettes in Delft pottery patterns
- the selection of Delft plates placed in a great arrangement
- the modern photo-montage version of Vermeer's 'Girl with a Pearl Earring'
- the funky 'space-saving' dining room in which dishwasher, cooker, fridge, bin etc are cleverly hidden in the wall!
- the personalised (to the hotel obv!) wallpaper in the bedrooms

And some of the things I generally enjoyed about staying here...

- being brought a cup of tea as we were checking in as I was coughing a bit, with the mention that the lovely lady had already popped some honey in it!
- the mini stroopwaffels left in our room each day
- the absolute silence in the street at night
- the delicious continental breakfast each day... Croissants, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts etc etc
The brilliant Nespresso coffee machine!

Yes as some people have mentioned the rooms are quite small... But really that's no more than an observation, in that they're not massive! But who needs a big room?? More importantly for me they were beautiful, and very comfortable - and I felt like I was on holiday!

The staff were so helpful and kind and I loved every moment of it!

It took us 5 minutes to walk to the Museumplein, and may e 15 at a good pace to reach Leidesplein where many bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLarcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February. Great location within easy walking distance of museums, fashion district, leidesplein etc. stylish hotel with very attentive service and the only downside is the size of the rooms. That being said, we had read this previously so knew what to expect.
Upon arrival there was no coffee machine but this was promptly resolved by Phenny.
Overall this was a great value hotel for our stay - would recommend the nearby cafe loetje for dinner and drinks instead of the inflated prices in Amsterdam centrum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just got back from this hotel and must say that we really enjoyed our stay. Staff was helpful, room was clean and cosy and the hotel has a great location. Albert Cuypmarket, Museumplein, Vondelpark and the centre are just minutes away.
We had the room on the ground floor and must admit that I was a little sceptical at first. It is located next to the breakfast area and just down the hall from the reception so I thought there was going to be some noise in the morning but I did not hear a sound which was great. Room was indeed pretty small but had a comfy bed and was clean so no reason to complain. If I must say something negative about the room it would be that the shower did not have a door causing a small flood in the bathroom.
Would definitely go back for another stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am a local but don't live in the Netherlands anymore. Felt very at home there. Tiny rooms but so nicely and cool decorated that it all makes up. Very nice diverse staff. Lovely owner whom likes a chat. Late night pot of tea offered.
Great location between 'the pijp' and 5min from Museum plein. Great comfy white bed!

Only thing I needed a numbered list of the tv channels :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnylifeMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel avib
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the hotel between 30/11-4/12. The staff was very lovely and helpfull.The room was very nice,clean and very quiet and has a coffee mashine.the hotel has an elevator and it's located just a few minutes by tram from the Dam,and a few minutes walk from a food and clothes market.Every morning we woke up to a pleasent smell of fresh backed goodies.In our next visit to amsterdam we will surely book at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing