We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A hotel that's trying very hard for success.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cityden Museum District City Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Ranked #176 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A hotel that's trying very hard for success.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First, the positives: The location is pleasant and away from the night life of Amsterdam, more or less. It is only 2 blocks from the Van Gogh Museum and other tourist sites, also the tram stop. The place is nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. It has an elevator. There is a breakfast offered, but I had to leave early in the morning, before 0700 when breakfast was available. The reception staff speaks excellent English, knowledgeable about tourist sites and transport, and is eager to help. The room was just okay, nicely decorated. There was air conditioning, but more about that later. First, the sign on the hotel just reads "NL-Hotel" so I could only confirm that I was at the right hotel by checking the house number. Second, the front door is kept locked all day, so I had to knock at the front door to alert the reception that I was at the door. I went up to the room, but the electronic card-key did not work. Had to go back to reception with all my luggage to get a new key. Then, the air conditioning did not work, and the lady at reception had to replace the remote control. (During my stay, the temperatures in Amsterdam hit new record highs, so air conditioning was critical.) But, during the night, the air conditioning stopped working, but no one was at reception. I opened my windows, but then the drunk people coming home were so loud that it was hard to sleep. After only 3 or 4 hours of sleep, I had to wake up to go to the airport. I took a shower, but the water did not drain out of the bathroom. Instead the whole bathroom was flooded with a centimeter of water. So, I could not dry my hair or apply my cosmetics (no mirror in the room). After I contacted the manager with my complaints, he provided a partial refund and his deep apologies. So, I think this new hotel is on the right track, but more attention needs to be given to the details. Also, the room was small. It was fine for me with only one suitcase, but if you were more than one person or had more suitcases, it could be a challenge. Given a little time, I think this place will succeed. The management and staff are eager to learn and to please their clientele.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VaBene001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    103
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
36
145
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

In this month of August, I traveled a lot for business and leisure, this place was a positive surprise for a night's stay. I like to emphasize the reception really friendly, motivated and professional. The hotel is serviced by an elevator inside, the stairs are very steep, overall it is definitely a hotel where to stay, especially if you want to visit the Museum Square. The hotel has a service to rent bicycles, a fundamental tool to experience the city at its best.

Room Tip: Book the room in time before it remain the litlest one; nice but really little one.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleFiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in late July. We had a deluxe room on the top or 5th floor. The bed was super comfortable and the room had great lighting, a refrigerator, coffee maker, a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and free wireless internet that had great connection speed. The room is small, yet very functional. The shower had great water pressure. We also received breakfast in our rate when I prepaid for the three nights. Breakfast is generally 10 euros per person. I received the room with breakfast included for 85 euro per night which was a great deal for Amsterdam. Breakfast included cereals, yogurt, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, and breads and pastries. Juice, milk, and coffee or tea to drink. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh Museum. It is located on a quiet side street. Also 5 minute walk to catch the number 5 tram which can take you all the way to Centraal Station as well as stops at the Leidseplein, and Dam Square. We bought a multi-day transportation card and highly recommend this if you plan on using the trams and buses. When we arrived in Amsterdam, we took the airport bus for just under 4 euro per person and it drops you 5 minutes from the hotel. It was about a 15 minute ride. The staff was very friendly and gave us a great map of Amsterdam as well as helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants or things to do. We would definitely stay here again when in Amsterdam. Would also recommend the restaurant De knijp for dinner. Very good food and only about 2 blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rphamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I totally raccomand this hotel to everyone.
I really clean, beautiful desing, 10min ride with tram-line to center easy, people and service is great.
Room is not big but who cares you are not there to stay inside the hotel. Great price too.
I will definitelly come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Niko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and it was almost our only alternative to a hostel. We saw some good reviews and decided to try it out. We paid EUR 130 for the first night and 110 for the second. Breakfast was not included.

The receptionist was friendly at arrival. Checking in was quick and we headed to our room. The hotel has an elevator which is a plus in small hotels in Amsterdam. Decoration overall is nice. Location was perfect for us: walk distance from the Museums and Vondelpark, 10 minutes tram from the center, in one of the most beautiful areas of the city.

Our room was extremely small, almost with no space to walk or leave our suitcases. Thank God we only had one carry-on (it was just a weekend trip), otherwise there would have been no place to put a bigger bag or bags. It was clean and cleaned every day so positive point there. Wifi connection was good, not great. The bed was also good, not great.

The shower deserves a separate paragraph as it flooded the rest of the bathroom by design every single time one showered. Another (minor) negative point is that there were no shampoo bottles, which I normally don't care about but this time I did since I forgot to bring mine.

Finally, while the receptionist was very nice and offered to help us find restaurants, she really didn't know what she was talking about. The first night we asked for a good sitting restaurant and she sent us to an italian coffee and ice cream shop with some takeaway food. The second day she recommended a restaurant in the Jordaan area and marked it in our map. When we got there there was no such restaurant in that corner or in the blocks around it. We finally found it online the following day and went, and it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The maintenance of the rooms is poor. We slept in a very small room, difficult to move into it, and the walls of that room were completely full of dirty spots very visible for the customer.
The location is a little bit far from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ANJARA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Staying in this hotel for 5 nights was enjoyable Rooms are very small but new/renovated.
All the staff we met were really nice and helpfull
Not in the centre but in a very nice location.. Good tansportaion by tram to the center
Wi fi was working properly and for free. Breakfest was o.k. and cost 10 E a day for each .
We think that the price paid ( average of 110 E per night) should included breakfest

Room Tip: Not worth paying more for the expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#241 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityden Museum District City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityden Museum District City Suites

Property: Cityden Museum District City Suites
Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NL-Hotel Museumplein)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityden Museum District City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityden Museum District City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing