We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hostel...”
Review of Hostelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelle
Ranked #34 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Would not stay here again. We stayed in a private twin room. The rooms were clearly not cleaned beforehand; we found rubbish under our beds. Moreover, the free wifi advertised failed to work in our room as it was at the end of the corridor. There was no hot water in our shower for one day and nothing was done to help the situation when we asked the receptionist for help. The rooms are also quite small. Location is okay as it is quite close to a metro station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SS_99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night, arrived before the rooms where ready + the staff put my bag into a locked room for me so that after checking in/paying I could go and explore rather than wait around at the hostel which I thought was lovely! Not into the party scene myself so was in the perfect place for me! Nice and chilled and relaxed, beautifully decorated!
Only downsides for me would be that the radiators are loud, so if your a light sleeper, make sure you have earplugs! And that when I went to go to sleep, I found that my sheet had a tear in the bottom of it. The sheet was clean, so I didn't bother changing it (plus the others in my room where already asleep, didn't want to wake them), but it was annoying and weird!!
Wifi worked pretty well, but when more people came back into the hostel later in the night, it did slow down a lot. Easy to find it with the directions + is sign posted most of the way anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingOKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in Feb 2013, found the staff really friendly & helpful and it had a good atmosphere. We found the location OK because it is close to a major train/metro/bus station so easy to get around from. The directions on their website are perfect - we had no problems finding the place because we printed them out and they were easy to follow! I can see how people get lost if they don't do this.
Stayed in both a six bed and four bed dorm - both were good though the six actually had more space for suitcases etc. The place is decorated really nicely and well kept. Beds were comfortable and had shelves. The bathrooms were all clean. They have wifi which works throughout.

Room Tip: Choose a bed near the window to have access to a power point (they're underneath the radiators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvettevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent a good hour looking for this hostel as it is not advertised anywhere on the building and is on the forth floor of a complex. But once I found it it was a nice hostel. Really not for anyone interested in having a good time. Very quite and located far from the city center. Most people were in bed by 11PM while I was staying there and that's at the latest! But it was very clean and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I female 19th years and only travelling was inspire.
The Hostel is furnished affectionately, very clean and favorable.
The staff always friendly and cooperatively.
By the train one is quick and uncomplicated in Amsterdam. The Hostel is in very quiet situation and 3 minutes of a cinema, railway station and shopping possibilities.
go Ladys. its a very nice Place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my second trip to Amsterdam and considering what a bad experience I'd had in the last hostel I'd stayed in, this was a welcome change. I travelled with three friends and we actually booked this place before it had even opened.

If you're looking to have a more peaceful stay in Amsterdam, this is where you should come. The fact that it's all-female automatically means less noise, and the hostel's location away from the city centre means that party-goers and weed-smokers stay away.

If, however, you're intending to party in Amsterdam, then steer well clear. The hostel is so far away from party hotspots that you really shouldn't go out unless you are prepared to stay out all night and wait for the first train. It's also located in a pretty random location in the middle of a council estate.

The best things about this hostel were the cutesy decor (not a priority I know, but check out the Hello Kitty toilet!), bathroom space, and overall levels of cleanliness. The worst things about this hostel were its location and shower temperatures!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had always envisioned hostels as a slightly nicer version of large jail cells, but from the second I walked in from the inviting decor to the brilliant color scheme I was absolutely head over heels enthralled.Coming from a four star hotel in Paris next to the Madeleine, I instantly knew I'd made the best decision of my trip.The girls I stayed with in my eight person room were sweet &respectful.The staff was ABSOLUTELY Amazing, doing everything in their power to make your stay as comfortable as possible, bending over backwards you could truly tell that they loved their jobs.Being able to do my laundry &contact friends &family members through wifi was great.I would definitely recommend this hostel over any hotel in all of Europe, especially if its your first time visiting and you need information about transportation/food/shopping...Anything this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_ro_4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#161 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,027 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,387 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#62 of 248 in Amsterdam
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelle

Address: Bijlmerplein 395, 1102 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $26 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelle 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelle, the first all-female hostel in Amsterdam, is a unique, beautifully decorated and affordable hostel in Amsterdam. The hostel is only accessible for women and has everything a girl or woman needs. Hostelle is easily accessible by public transportation and close to musical venues like the Heineken Music Hall and the Ziggo Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing