We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap but boring” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheap but boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a Boring location. The room was ok, very basic, but poorly cleaned. The AC didn't work. It was cheap but we have visited much better hotels with in that pricerange. It was fairly easy to walk to the nearest tram station, to get in to the center of Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna196909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    439
    555
    270
    340
See reviews for
215
539
105
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were large and the beds were very nice. The staff was very nice and helped us with all our questions. The staff spoke several languages, even Danish. I don't understand why everyone is so concerned about this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
We cannot wait to welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel in quite place beside the canal but there are not somethings like mine bar and light not enough
The staffs are wonderful, near from supermarkets and chines resturant and junky meals, you can go to the metro station on foot 400m approximatly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aazmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read reviews before , the biggest catch this hotel does not have air conditioning which you come to know only when you check in , staff is rude and unfriendly , there are many other hotels available for same price

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumeet1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

After seeing many bad reviews I was concerned about staying however for the money this hotel was perfect. Rooms were basic but large and our double bed was huge. Everything was clean and maids gave us new towels and toiletries each day.
Free wifi was good to check maps and transport round the city and seeing as your on holiday I don't understand why people are so concerned about it.
Although this hotel isn't located right in the centre it is in a nice area and few minutes away from restaurants and shops,and also a tram stop is near which made travelling easy plus a great way to see the city. Vondelpark is also not far which was great.
Staff seemed friendly and all spoke brilliant English which was a bonus for us.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Humphrey357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
We are glad you have enjoyed the clean rooms and that you find our staff friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back any time soon.

Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is by far the rudest hotel I have been too. Not only does it not have any air conditioner. Which i got told they do not actually advertise . I got yelled by staff at front desk for not properly listing my minor kids. I requested to change rooms and to be informed that it is not procedure... I asked then if I could at
AT least have a fan or portable ac... 40 min I had to go down yet again to remind them.... My poor kids were suffocating from the heat in the room. Another oddity... All bedsin our "double beds" room were single. If it wasn't for the last minute change in flight schedule, I would never step in this part of town again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here... At least request a room with windows that open. That would at least help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losjedis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#71 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing