We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quite place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel in quite place beside the canal but there are not somethings like mine bar and light not enough
The staffs are wonderful, near from supermarkets and chines resturant and junky meals, you can go to the metro station on foot 400m approximatly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aazmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    415
    515
    255
    325
See reviews for
196
511
100
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read reviews before , the biggest catch this hotel does not have air conditioning which you come to know only when you check in , staff is rude and unfriendly , there are many other hotels available for same price

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumeet1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After seeing many bad reviews I was concerned about staying however for the money this hotel was perfect. Rooms were basic but large and our double bed was huge. Everything was clean and maids gave us new towels and toiletries each day.
Free wifi was good to check maps and transport round the city and seeing as your on holiday I don't understand why people are so concerned about it.
Although this hotel isn't located right in the centre it is in a nice area and few minutes away from restaurants and shops,and also a tram stop is near which made travelling easy plus a great way to see the city. Vondelpark is also not far which was great.
Staff seemed friendly and all spoke brilliant English which was a bonus for us.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Humphrey357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
We are glad you have enjoyed the clean rooms and that you find our staff friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back any time soon.

Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is by far the rudest hotel I have been too. Not only does it not have any air conditioner. Which i got told they do not actually advertise . I got yelled by staff at front desk for not properly listing my minor kids. I requested to change rooms and to be informed that it is not procedure... I asked then if I could at
AT least have a fan or portable ac... 40 min I had to go down yet again to remind them.... My poor kids were suffocating from the heat in the room. Another oddity... All bedsin our "double beds" room were single. If it wasn't for the last minute change in flight schedule, I would never step in this part of town again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here... At least request a room with windows that open. That would at least help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losjedis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked this hotel for the cheap price, and what I got was (of course) a cheap hotel.
hte location was alright but very far away from the center of Amsterdam.
the room was clean, but I had rats in the room and saw another in the hall of the hotel. talked to the management and they give me a refund of a couple of nights...
front desk staff, weren't very friendly also....neither helpfull...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is located in some quite area in Amsterdam, near to the center of the city. The metro station or the tram station is 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. If you want to get to the city center by tram, you will take tram no 2, but the journey is very long about 45 minutes, to the Central Station. If you choose metro, you will have to take one metro line to the RAI (Congress Center) station, and then transfer to another metro line to the Central station, but the journey is shorter about 30 minutes comparing with the tram transportation.
The room in the hotel was big enough, with wooden furniture. The room was cleaned every day and the towels were changed every day. The breakfast is fresh and delicious. This hotel is good choice for short stay in Amsterdam, especially if you are attending RAI Congress Center, because the hotel is about 3 metro stations far away from the RAI. There are two big supermarkets near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacedonianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I wasn't very picky and I wanted cheap hotel so I found this one. The hotel is OK, not a great one but good for this money. The room was OK, but the the bathroom was not very nice. My greatest disappointment was the WiFi - it was instantly kicking me out and I could not use it at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lachezar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing