We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really can't get anything right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They really can't get anything right”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here for a conference for my research grant. In my first room, the window didn't shut, the phone was missing, the lock was broken, and the Internet didn't work, so they gave me a new room. Sadly, the elevator was broken and my key card (as well as those of many of my colleagues) all stopped working, which meant we were given giant physical keys. The cleaning crew does not actually clean the room (there was hair in the shower and make-up on the sink where I had left them in the morning), though they do seem to straighten it up and deliver fresh (scratchy) towels. The pillows, mattress, and blankets are as terrible as you'd expect. They give you two of the tiniest bottles of hair/body soap imaginable, which aren't nearly enough for my to wash even just my (longish) hair. If you're tall, they won't be enough for you to soap up. I'm sure I've missed a bunch of other things that are bad about the room and the service. Also, this should be clear from a map, but it's quite far from anything--about a half hour by tram to the city center.

Positives: Clean, tolerable (free) breakfast, free (unreliable and slow) wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swingsidesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    470
    586
    291
    374
See reviews for
237
575
109
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room was much cheaper than alternatives, and as an economy option it ticked all the boxes; clean, safe, warm, no major defects... Staff also very pleasant and helpful. Some of the critiques on here seem to overlook the fact that it's a cheap option; ridiculous in my view to expect five star quality on a no-star price... the only downside is the 20 minute tram ride into town (can also be done by train and bus).. but overall a very positive experience

Room Tip: 419 was standard and fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 5 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. A lot of our guests see this as a positive thing. Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive.
We hope you choose our hotel again the next time you will visit Amsterdam!
Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A nice clean hotel..
comfortable stay..had a family crisis which night reception sorted brilliantly..hoping our next stay will be more memorable for the right reasons!!
Would recommend this hotel to future guests

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 4 star review.
We really hope you will come and stay with us again next time you visit
Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for two-night stay and even tho I was a bit worried thanks to tripadvisor reviews, I must say that I actually had quite a nice stay.

First of all, do not expect luxury. It's just a three-star and it IS a three-star hotel. The room had new furnishment with an LCD TV with over 70 channels in all main languages. My room was facing the highway, which is just in front of the hotel, but there was no noise at all! Also the location from the Schiphol was very convenient - just one stop by train to Lelylaan and then two stops by metro. The connection to the city center is easy as well, the tram goes (even on weekend!) every few minutes and it all takes less than 30 minutes (plus you got to see other parts of beautiful Amsterdam). Check-in process was very quickly (hi, your name? your cards, enjoy!) and the guy on the reception (Jos) was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Same was with Ms. Zitteren from the reservations, who helped me with struggles and requests with my reservation.

The cons of the hotel were not that bad. The toilet was leaking a bit (just some water under the toilet) and I didn't think of it as a huge problem so I didn't even tell at the reception; there was also hair in the sink and the shower door was opening a bit. The heater did not work good as well, but after telling at the reception, an extra heater was put in my room while I was outside of the hotel.

Can not say a word about breakfast as I was sleeping druing breakfast time, but please, do not buy any kind of burger at local restaurant. Pizza was good tho.

I will probably return as I was satisfied with the service, accommodation and price.

Room Tip: my room was 250, not facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr1shke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My overall rate to this hotel is POOR for the following reasons:
1) I found bedbugs in all the beds in the room we were staying.
2) The showers/bathrooms were not very clean
3) There was poor lighting

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a very cheap hotel. Don't get conned into using the shuttle. The cheapest way to get there is take the train one stop to Lelylaan and then take bus 62. The bus driver drops you off near the hotel. You have to walk down a sidewalk but not far. The sign on Google map is wrong. The sign is still there, but it has the hotel's name on it.

As far as the hotel, the staff is super friendly. Everyone spoke English, and it was a comfortable setting in that sense. And if you like art, there are several paintings on the first floor.

Pros - clean and comfortable bed, hot water, TV (couldn't find the remote), and the bathroom seemed clean. There was a nice sandwich/pizza area in the lobby and it was open at 9 p.m.

Cons - the dresser had hair and food crumbs on it, the curtains had to be held together with a bobby pin (which I left in the room for the next person), the shower was broken (tub worked fine), and the pillows were small.

If you're looking for a cheap hotel with a great staff and a comfortable bed, this would be the place for you. And if you have kids, this would be a good place too. There's a pool table.There are buses to the city center and you can get day passes. It's just outside the main part of Amsterdam and it's quiet.

If management fixed those things, I would give it a higher rating. The room was on the first floor, but the bathroom had no safety rails. I was in room 032.

Room Tip: Room 032 had a broken shower and the curtains didn't close. There were two beds pushed together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yep2Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

this hotel is overall good and better than other in this location. it offers good services and value to customers with free wi-fi service. location is not good as it is located very far from tourist sites. The staffs were friendly to us, room was always stay clean. it means hotel is preferable to any one visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 5 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. A lot of our guests see this as a positive thing. Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive.
We are happy to read about your positive experience with the clean rooms,service and our staff.
We really hope you will come and stay with us again next time you visit.
Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 367 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,427 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#234 of 367 in Amsterdam
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing