We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Is there such a thing as a good deal?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #288 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Is there such a thing as a good deal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good value hotel, reasonably clean, and a reasonable distance from the city centre.

All the receptions we spoke to were helpful and used good manners. We stayed in a room with four single beds. Did the job for what we needed, just a place to crash and get ourselves ready for the next outing. Fresh Towels and beds made daily. LCD TV on the wall in room, but we didn’t use it. Don’t expect great views from the windows, but it was quiet at night etc. which is a plus, as if you were in the city centre there would be a lot of noise.

Worst factor is definitely the maintenance of the hotel, especially our room. The pool table in the bar area was out of order and no sign was on it to notify people of this, so we ended up putting 2 euros in, and had to play silly buggers to get the balls out with the hotel worker.

In our room, the shower head was completely broken and when turned on, it just sprayed water all over the place, which left a completely soaked bathroom floor. Also there was holes in our ceiling, and a constant foul smell coming from the bathroom (poorly maintained drains, maybe?).

No in room tea making facilities (not ideal for an English group!), there is also no hair dryer (which also didn’t help with our flamboyant English hair styles).

Also, take your own drinks back to the hotel. The hotel charges 2.50 euros for a can of Coke. They can probably do this because there are no shops around and it would be effort for tourists to go and search for one.

I would probably stay here again, only if I was on a budget stay like I was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    419
    523
    257
    330
See reviews for
201
516
100
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Room key cards don't work, night door doesn't open, lift out of service, and service just average. This hotel looks like it's not been carefully maintained over the years. Otherwise fine. Located 5 minutes by walk from tramway #2.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Julien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that during your stay with us you encountered some issues. It is always possible to contact the reception to see if they can do something directly.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Spend there 7 days .Six people with 3 difeferent rooms. Booked electronicly and paid aproximetely 10E/per day !!!

The room was acceptable for that amount of price .
The hotel was in a nice location with the public transport station very near it
Everything easy to navigate in and out of the hotel
Huge disapointed by the personel except 2 young boy and lady in the reception and the lady that gives
brekfast in the lobby with extremely good value of 3E if its still on dont miss it .
Amazed by the rudeness of some people in there but think of the money you would spend somewhere else !
If you only consider that the word "filoxenia" does not exist in their dictionary
The next time i'll visit Amsterdam i 'd like to stay in an other hotel but i would not buther the same in that price again

Room Tip: All the rooms are prety much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hotel was a bit far out from city centre but easily accessible via 20 mins tram ride. Hotel has all amenities you need. All you can eat buffet breakfast was €10 but there wasn't a wide variety of choice. Hotel was clean and room was cleaned daily. Good choice if on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
We're glad to read that you had such a good experience and that you give us a 4 star review.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of an estate!? We were given the key to a room that was still occupied, the lift is shockingly slow, the showerhead is NOT adjustable & the TV signal??? Would not recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your review at Tripadvisor. We are really sorry that you had such a bad experience, if you are not satisfied with your room it is always possible to ask for another room.
Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive. Our hotel is just outside the city center, therefore we have lower prices and you are not far from the city center.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review, We hope you will visit us again in the future so we can change your not so good opinion about our hotel into a good opinion!
Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#300 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#256 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#198 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing