We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent enough for no-frills stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“decent enough for no-frills stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My colleagues had several complaints with their rooms (too cold or too stuffy), but the one I am staying in was quite alright (Room 401), could be because the top floors were just refurbished, we heard. The small lift that goes up is rather claustrophobic and slow though. My biggest complaint is that my room couldn't get the wireless internet signal, and I had to go down to the lounge to do my work. Don't expect too much from the room, there was no safe, no hair dryer, no iron, etc. and the hotel had no gym, no business centre, etc.

Bar had a pool table which we played a few games for 2 Euro each, but we didn't try the drinks. Breakfast was good enough, basic european fare but i have had hotel breakfasts with really limited choices (just hard bread, cheese, ham and boiled eggs). This one at least had more variety, such as scrambled eggs, bacon, nice croissants, etc.

Distance to the city centre is about 25 mins by tram no. 2, which may be a put off to some.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezgoing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    415
    515
    255
    325
See reviews for
196
511
100
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a good little hotel if you are travelling on a budget and just want somewhere clean with a comfortable bed to sleep. The staff were really helpful and offered lots of advice of how to get to different parts of town.

Some reviews have complained about the distance of the hotel to the City, however the the tram into the City is quick and cheap. Plus you get to see parts of Amsterdam you wouldn't see if staying centrally.

Overall I would say that this is a nice little place, with friendly staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemHotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are very positive about our staff, transport options and the rooms. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!
Kind regards, West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the West Side Inn and was not impressed at all! First, the parking area was a bit scary to be walking through. Had I been alone, i wouldn't have been comfortable. Upon reaching the hotel's entrance, there were a group of young adults smoking a not so legal substance (I know it's Amsterdam, but right at the entrance of a business and they aren't doing anything about it??). The room was acceptable at first site - nothing very nice about it but it would do for one night. However, the next morning I woke up and my legs were COVERED in bed bug bites. I've stayed at several inexpensive hotels around Europe for work as my company's daily allowance isn't that high, but never have I had to deal with bed bug bites as a result.

Room Tip: Don't pick 229 as it has bed bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean rooms, very friendly service. However, very expensive bar and we did not have electricity power for all night. The location is not bed little bit far from the central but you can reach the Dam square by tram (20 min).






  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Trooper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend break. Located 5 minutes walk from the tram stop, which takes 5-10 minutes to get into the centre of the city. We arrived before check in and we were allowed to store our luggage in the luggage room which was locked. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The shower was great too. No complaints at all and would definitely stay again for a night or 2. A very highly recommended standard hotel that makes a great base for a city break in the city. After a few too many drinks a taxi was needed back to the hotel as the trams stopped running and too far to walk. This is no different to being at home so not a problem at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paulcreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#208 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing