We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    415
    515
    255
    325
See reviews for
196
511
100
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Did not take any food, looks too untidy. Breakfast is good for once to experience. However good for the night to stay. Did not like the many marihuana smokers around the hotel, it stinks everywhere!!!


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Beat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is very good considering the price we have paid. It was clean, we had direct transport to Central station (20 min by tram), they had 24/7 food service in case you get hungry :).. and i really loved the bed!


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Poor Break Fast & no restaurants around the area. To get to town there the tram is a five minute walk away. The hotel is non smoking (with fines) so every one smokes at the entrance. No noise after 10 pm but we had a couple of drunkards talking and howling all nigh - hey, it's Amsterdam after all! So we no complaints about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel West Side Inn, Amsterdam is good value for money. The rooms are neat and clean, easy reach via tram number 2 (25 min from Centraal Station and then 5 min walk) and also close to almost all famous museums in Amsterdam.

The only drawback we felt was that the rooms had no air conditioning and the windows of the room were West facing - makes it difficult if you are not used to stay in hot atmospheres (we had been in European summers).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was in an OK part of town. A lot of people have complained that it was remote and creepy, but since I was with 3 other people so I never felt unsafe.

It doesn't look like the pictures at all, very run down and barely clean. The shower was blocked and when you stepped out the tray was full of water. The pressure in the shower was good but you had to hold the shower head as it wasn't attached properly.

I woke up with lots of bed bug bites, I've never been bitten before and I now believe them to be infected as 12 days have passed and they are still itchy and swollen despite having put antihistamine cream etc.

People say you get what you pay for, but I have stayed in far cheaper places in Hong Kong, Bangkok, Seoul to name but a few and have never stayed anywhere as appalling as this.

Spend your money elsewhere. We were lucky not to have seen rats and mice, but I'm not sure that I should be counting my blessings? Nobody should have to be exposed to this level of hospitality, especially when its being paid for. If they need to call the exterminator they should close down for a period of time and do so and stop exposing people to these kind of conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alesha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In general it's a nice Hotel and comfortable. The service it is good but I think the Price is not the correct because in Germany for the same room is more cheaper.
However, it's recomended this Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David Alejandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing