We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay at the Hem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay at the Hem”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ive stayed at Hem Hotel between the 1st of March and the 4th, in room 003, ground level. I arrived at the hotel around 8,30 AM and I was able to leave my bags at the hotel until 2 PM (checking time). I paid 145 EUR for 3 nights (keeping in mind the hotel conditions, its a bargain)
The hotel is located 20 min walk from the train station, 60 min walk from downtown. Its a nice area (you can even find 2 supermarkets 2 min walking from the hotel)
The room was very nice and clean. Nice view on the window.
The staff was very polite and helpful. The main gate is open from 7AM until 11 PM.
Definitely I will return to this hotel in my next trip to Amsterdam.

There was only one issue with the TV (the channels didn't worked), but let's be honest...no one comes to Amsterdam to watch TV :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    470
    586
    291
    374
See reviews for
237
575
109
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have just spent 3nights at the Hem hotel and I must say that my experience was good. Check-in/out was quick, staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean, we had plenty of clean towels etc. the hotel is not very close to the city centre but a number 2 tram will take you straight there within 20mins.

Overall if you want a friendly hotel to crash at after a busy day, that is cheap I would recommend the Hem hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeslovesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself, boyfriend and another couple have just arrived back from a 4 day stay at HEM Hotel, Amsterdam.
Its nothing special, but its clean and accommodates everything you need for a short break. But come on, what do you expect for £20 per night.
Yes there was scuttling for about 5 minutes early in the morning and yes it is a little rough around the edges. However the reception staff are extremely helpful and i couldnt fault them. They offer drinks and food at very reasonable prices, however the breakfast is minimal but this is traditional for Amsterdam.
The hotel is set in a residential area which quite obviously is not a prestigious area, i didnt feel particularly staff at night, however you are soon in the hotel and its around a 3-4 minute walk from the tram stop.

Go for breakfast in the cafe in the park by the IamAmsterdam sign. 5 euros for the most amazing Dutch Pancakes.

I can also recommend the Anne Frank Museum and its only 9 euros each, you may want to pre-book if you dont have much time in Amsterdam as there is always a bug ques.

Amsterdam is a lovely city of which anyone will enjoy

Room Tip: All rooms apear to be of the same standard, they can be a little chilly but are all of a good standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

a group of us stayed here in December and our room was dead nice and clean, no dirty sheets and the food was nice, we are going back at the end of march and staying here again, the staff were all so nice. The tram stop is just down the road and the lidl is 2 mins away, some of our mates stayed in the hostel and even them rooms were good!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 312 room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. You've probably read about the rats, the intruders in rooms, sleeping by a noisy car park. Then there's constant running/flushing water, disgusting food, coke poured out of bottles that have been sat on the side for who knows how long. Unhelpful staff, unclean beds, broken mouldy leaking showers...this list is endless. Just don't go! Book somewhere a little more expensive and enjoy your time in The Dam (as the city is beautfiul!), the grief we went through in three days at this hotel ruined our entire time there.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starry-eyed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Pavia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was there twice, first time in August 2012 (with a colleague), then October 2012 (alone). In both cases I was on a business trip. The first time we got a decent and quite big room (it was a triple) on ground floor with a large window we could open, and the location was good for our working place. But the good things finish here. The cleaning ladies would non clean things at all: I am ok with the fact that they do not change sheets while I am staying there (I don't change mine at home every day), but they were not very clean, the towels were grey and smelly and the products they used for the bathroom would leave such a stinky-humid smell that was disgusting. Luckyly we could open the window back then. But when I returned the second time (for budget reasons, and for the proximity to the working place) I was in a room where I could not open the window and with the same awful smell. And the ceiling was falling apart, with the serious possibility that rats could fall on my bed. I could not change because of the reimbursment from my boss, but if I had the chance I would have done so! Not to mention the total unseriousness of the hotel staff: they barely asked me for my documents (on second time they didn't even check who I was), and people could go in and out without them even knowing what was going on.
Even if the tram stop is nearby, it is quite far from the center (15 minutes from Leidseplan, 30 from the train station), which was not so nice when we had to have dinner out. The neighbourhood was dark and isolated, so coming back at night was not the most comfortable thing to do (even though nothing happened).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window you can open. I guess first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spery_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 367 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,427 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#234 of 367 in Amsterdam
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing