We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very dirty!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #281 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dirty!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, very good position... but never seen a quality hotel so dirty!! dust everywhere in the room (for the whole 4 days of our stay!)... also the laundry was horrible with broken and holed towwels!! very pity!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evert-Jan v, General Manager at Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Zen,
Thank you very much for your comments. We always value guest comments good or bad highly. After investigating the matter our conclusion is our linnen procedure was not executed well by our laundry service. Orders are to take out all linnen of a bad quality. Obviously in your case this was not done properly for which we do apologize. The week after your departure we have changed our entire linnen stock to "Witte Littaer". A brand only used by 5 star deluxe properties from all over the world. Concerning the dust problem, It is a problem, but cannot be resolved because of our dark furniture. There is no more dust then in any other hotel, it's only more visible. A room can be totally free of dust and the moment you close the door it is there again. Dust is not the same as dirt. We put a lot of effort in cleaning and are convinced all rooms are cleaned in a proper way. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and prove to you your experience was an incident. Thank you again and kind regards, Cas van Lieshout,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    32
    26
    16
See reviews for
8
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After reading the reviews I was slightly worried but when we arrived we were impressed and happy with the room! Amsterdam is expensive regardless and this was good for the money you paid. It is a small boutique hotel where the cafe staff appear to run the hotel reception - no biggy they're all friendly. If you want a hotel with lots of staff waiting on you this is not your place... if youre all about exploring the city but wants some comforts i would stay here (im used to staying in back packers so this was perfect). The Cafe is also cool... quite shabby chic and the location is in a cool fashionable/rich part of the Dam... equivalent to bond st in London and only mins away from lots of attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikisixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was cosy and some what lacking in attention to detail of the decor but it's condition was commensurate for what we paid. Especially considering we stayed one of the busiest weekends of the year. This hotel was centrally located in Amsterdam, near the designer shops. The hotel has only 12 rooms . We arrived after 9pm , we rang the contact and the hotelier came to register us .
Despite the negative reviews that we had read online we found the hotel satisfactory .The decor was a bit tired in spots and Somewhat lacking in attention to detail, but it's condition was commensurate for what we paid.
future guests should be aware that the lift takes only three people at a time. The rooms are cosy -a bit tight for space. Ours was on the fourth floor in the loft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailc000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Freshest sandwich or salad. Lovely tro sit at the window to watch shoppers go by on pc hoofstraat. We had salmon sandwich and salmon salad. Nice apple pie and cream. Good place to rest tired feet. Crowded and busy so you know the food is fresh

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our arrival to this accommodation was a bit disappointing. There is literally no front desk, and know one really to get ahold of if there are any issues or questions about the room. This was a bit frustrating. The "front desk" is the bar at the restaurant, where the waitress checked us in and tried her best to answer our questions, although she said that the restaurant and the hotel are separate. The room was alright, very modern and a bit cold. The location was great, the bed was comfortable and the room was pretty clean. I would only suggest that they provide to us some resource of assistance while staying there other than the waitresses working the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTrotter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I think readers should know that before posting this review, I sent a cordial letter to the owners, hoping for a response which would have softened our experience. They didn't even bother to answer. In addition, this is the first time my partner and I, both seasoned travelers, have ever posted a negative review.
In short, although we had specifically booked the attic room for its charming appearance on the hotel's website and received confirmation of such by email, we were told our room had already been given to another guest and there was no possibility of rearrangement or remuneration. The receptionist casually said, "the standard room is actually bigger."

Upon entering the room, we discovered that only half the lights were working, and the temperature was uncomfortably cold. Finding two portable heaters in the closets we turned them on and the electricity promptly went out.. A visit to the reception desk did result in a return of electricity, but again with an unhelpful remark: "You can’t have two heaters on. Of course it went out."

While waiting for the heat, I decided to take a shower to warm up. The first towel I took off the shelf was clean, but with a hole in the middle of it.
During the night, sleep was nearly impossible due to the level of street noise (fighting, bottle throwing, etc.). We realize some degree of noise is impossible to eliminate in a city setting, but at least a minimal degree of double-glazing or other sound insulation is sorely missing.

Finally, after attempting to get breakfast at 8 am (not unreasonable in a city environment - I had a business meeting on the other side of town that began at 9), I not only found no staff in the restaurant, but the reception desk was also empty. I had to unlock the front door of the restaurant to let myself out.

Reading other reviews, we were obviously not alone in our horrible experience. For a hotel in a major world city, located on one of the wealthiest streets anywhere (PC Hoofdstraat), this is unacceptable.

My advice? Spend your 100+ euros elsewhere. Paying money to stay at the Hotel Maxime is a scam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 03-08-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had déjà-vu when eating here for lunch. From the outside it looks like a smart cafe/brasserie in Amsterdam's equivalent of Knightsbridge. When we sat down we remembered coming here a year or so ago - and finding the service slow and rude. Again it was very busy - there aren't other choices nearby so this might be why it gets away with such appalling service. Our food took an hour to arrive - for a salad and a sandwich. I asked about the delay and got told there were 'issues'. No apology. One waitress was the best trained in not catching the customers eye I have come across, and the second just blisteringly rude (thankfully to everyone not just us). Our late food was dumped on the table by her without even a word. The food was not much better - dried bread. Perhaps that was the 'issue'?
Worst service we have come across in Amsterdam - and consistently bad! So many lovely places to eat - we will avoid this one from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickW067067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#305 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#220 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing