We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #322 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is just nothing...! I was put in a room in the basement (AGAIN!) and my friend was on the top floor... The elevator does not work, so I had to climb up and down every time... My room in the basement was right next to a garbage bin - which means people were there all the time dumping glass bottles and I could hear it across my room... The location is the only thing going for this place, it does not have a any form of service and even the basics are not up to the mark...

Room Tip: Dont take the basement room... the elevator does not work... and the cleaning lady is always looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    72
    46
    58
See reviews for
24
63
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Although the setting and external appearance of the hotel was lovely the rooms were not very good, although the garden view was pleasant enough and the bed comfortable the downsides were torn curtains, not a lot of furniture, no plugs for the plug holes, no drinking glass for cleaning teeth, one huge bottle of liquid soap, A basic lack of the niceties. My friends room was worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Roedovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Elevator did not work and there are 4 flights of stairs:-(
Nowhere to hang your stuff
The beds are the worst I have slept in anywhere - Laos countryside was better
Not a glas in the room to drink from
No breakfast service
No remote, but that was of no importance, the signal was better in North Korea

And, the price was EUR 290 a night t!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go somewhere else

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Budget hotel for sure, the decor is a little dated, but the rooms are clean, the location is excellent.

The elevator didn't work while we were staying, seems like it might have been broken for a long while... If you can't do stairs, do not stay here. Other than that, the price was great, the rooms decent, and location very good.

Room Tip: Ask if the elevator is working, if its still out of service, get a room on a low floor. The stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am the manager of TravelMagma.com
I stayed at your hotel at 18.4 for 3 nights.
First I came to the hotel to check-in at 14:00 and it wasn't ready (it suppose to be ready at 13:00)
So we left our stuff and then came back to the hotel at 21, we got the last room left in the hotel as it was full,
It was the room downstairs WITHOUT a view to the canal and also every time we had a shower all the room was flooded as the drain was blocked.
When we booked the room through hotels.com we were promised a room with a canal view and we didn't get it! We were on time in the hotel
and the room wasn't ready at check-in time. If I had known that we wouldn't get the nice room with the view I would have booked another hotel.
Only 2 days later when you had a free room you changed us.
I would like to get a compensation on the room price for not getting the room we were promised.
I know that all the rooms has the same price, but you promised me one thing and I got another room!
I contacted the manager of Armada hotel through his email:
houman@savoyhotel.nl
and got no response, also the receptionist didn't want to call the manager and ask so i can complain personally.
Let me know your response asap, Here is the room details:

Room details
One Double Bed
This room overlooks the water. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected. The private bathroom has a bathtub or shower, as well as a hair dryer. Climate control, a desk, and cribs/infant beds are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Check in details
Guests planning to arrive after 6 PM are asked to contact the hotel in advance to arrange check-in. Contact details are provided in the booking confirmation.

Room charges
Price per room per night 212,00€
Total 636,00€
Deposit paid 636,00€
Total due at hotel 0,00€

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We came on Kings Day, and could bearly reach the door, there was a concert outside the hotel.
There is no food, but the reseption is helpful, they smile and provide excellent help. No luxury but its ok. Clean rooms, new towels every day and close to almost everything.
I recommand the place

Helpful?
Thank BrittKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#274 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#177 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Keizersgracht 713 /715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Armada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing