We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“didn't get what we've paid for” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“didn't get what we've paid for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is way highly priced than it's value. We've paid EU130/night, but it's only worth EU50/night. Rooms are small, hall way is old, windows are old and not insulated well. The bath towel are worn out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    71
    44
    57
See reviews for
24
58
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We found the hotel to be good value for money . Our rooms were warm and clean , no problem with the bed or the bedding , and the shower was pretty good . The breakfast was plentifull and lots of variety , the meats and cheese were kept in a chiller , which was constantly topped up and always clean . The staff for us were lovely (even let us print some documents on their printer ), perhaps its the way you treat them as to how they treat you !! Location was perfect . Not sure what people expect from a 2 star hotel . Would definatley stay here again .........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swanettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It's position is great. I can't argue with that. But it's awful inside. It's not so much grubby but really tatty and tired and miserable. But what is the worst aspect was two very rude men who who booked us in and dealt with the matter of the room door lock not working.
Anyway, bed mattress was stained with urine. The blankets had holes in them.
And i paid 200 Euros for two nights bed and breakfast.

When you go to Amsterdam visit Restaurant RED on the Keizersgracht. Best meal I've ever had! Ever. Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_A_Cotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had 2 spacious rooms with very comfortable double beds. I had a large sofa in mine and my colleague had 2 comfy armchairs. The rooms did not match the description on the website of a 12 sq m room each with single beds! Also they were not in the main part of the hotel but in the house next door so to reach the reception and breakfast we had to go out into the elements. Also there was no room service so beds weren't made - which I liked. My colleague had a view of a lovely garden and everything worked in her room. I had problems with the lack of a bath plug and a shower that had no fitting to suspend it off the wall. But it was a very quiet nights sleep in a delightful old Amsterdam house with a view of the canal from our breakfast table. Magic. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very dissapointed with the room size, cleanliness, lack of cubboards, tea/coffee facilities in room// I won't go on .... Other than to saty this should be classed as a low grade low budget hotel, the price we paid was way to much for what we got, it was the web site that makes it look nice.. Location was brilliant pity about every thing else ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, I didn't had any problems like dirty bed or carpet. I had a direct view over the canal. The price was pretty good, lower than other places. The location is also pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#166 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel
City Hotel
#179 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Armada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing