We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing steak, but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Argentino

Al Argentino
Ranked #2,217 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing steak, but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as menu looked nice and good offer on outside board but it turned out to be double the price.

Great steak but expensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank LCR265
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    55
    29
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A+ for al Argentino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by some friends who had a brilliant meal in 2012 during a trip to Amsterdam. We booked this as our main meal during our weekend break in the city with our sons and their girlfriends. The beef steaks were really good. They also offered a wide selection complete meals at a reasonable price. The service was impeccable and the staff was very friendly. We ended up going back a couple of days later and were just as satisfied then. We will definitely come back next time we are in Amsterdam, which hopefully will be soon as we loved the city! All in all, we highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Ribs, ribs, ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We as a group of four we were looking for something to fill a lunch time meal time.
A sign outside the Al Argentino intrigued us.... "Unlimited ribs" ...... So in we went.
The interior was fashioned as I believe represented a ranch with lots of wood and cowhide covered seats.
A very pleasant young lady greeted us and escorted us to a table whilst explaining the unlimited ribs deal. We all decided to have a go at it.
Two of us opted for the salad and chips with ribs while the other two opted for just ribs.
The ribs duly arrived piping hot and smelling wonderfully.
As the first racks of ribs were eaten the young lady inquired as to who would like more; these arrived shortly and were enjoyed as much as the first ones. Only I requested a further portion as the ribs were very very filling and delicious with plenty of meat and a beautiful sauce and I couldn't resist more.
The lady told us that all the steaks and ribs were imported from Argentina and she hailed from Poland. Coffee followed before three of us fancied tasting a coconut flavoured ice cream served in a coconut half shell. At a price of€14.95 per person we all felt it represented value for money. Well recommend to anyone who likes ribs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Enigmaman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Argenti No”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were enticed inside by attractive offers on the boards outside, but found that the menus we were given showed prices that were twice as expensive. That combined with the stifling heat, which was as uncomfortable as it was surprising in September, led us to leave with 3 Euros to pay for the tiny bottle of water provided. Not very impressive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Juicy Steak - Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came to this Argentinian restaurant looking for steak - and I was satisfied! Got a mid-size Rumpsteak (300g about 20 Euro - maybe it was the 400g but who's counting?). Medium - came cooked on the outside but still juicy on the inside. Perfect! My colleague got the lamb but felt it was a bit dry. Learning point - order the steak in a steakhouse. To be fair, he's not a Beefeater. The house beer is also very nice. Chairs are upholstered in cowhide - the seats are rubbed bare of hairs - points to plenty of satisfied customers. Would definitely go back again next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Argentino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Al Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing