We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An integral part of our Amsterdam experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Museumzicht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Museumzicht
Ranked #225 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An integral part of our Amsterdam experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

For the six days that we spent in Amsterdam, the Hotel Museumzicht became our base for exploring the city. The delicious morning breakfast was served in a community room with a wonderful view, inside and out. The unique decorations of the hotel have a museum quality of their own. Our room was warm and comfortable as snow was falling outside. The staff provided many suggestions for things to see and do in the city. The close proximity to great museums proved a major plus for us. Having public transportation near the hotel made it easy to get around although most sights are in walking distance. We hope to return one day! Thank you, Hotel Museumzicht!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashback_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    41
    9
    13
See reviews for
15
67
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week in October. I was charmed by the owner, the small room (with a view), and the wonderful breakfasts with a toaster at the tables in the lovely breakfast room overlooking the Museumplein. As a solo-woman traveler, new to Amsterdam, I was thankful for the tips. The location was perfect, near the Film Museum, the markets, the musuems, the Pip, the bike rentals, lots of restaurants and of course the canals. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satpriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Museumzicht and look forward to returning there on my next
visit to Amsterdam. I didn't expect to stop in Amsterdam this trip, and called the hotel
looking for an inexpensive single room at the last minute. The owner (?) was very helpful over the phone and helped me save a few more Euros by telling me which bus to take from Schiphol airport and thereby avoid a taxi or train & tram ride in. Once at the hotel, I was able to easily get around the city using the tram system which stops by the front door.

My single room was small with a sink in it, with the toilet and shower out in the hall. All were clean. I never had to wait for either the bathroom or shower. If they were occupied on my floor, I'd just try one on the other floors.

The breakfast room is very cheery, flower-filled, and bright, and I enjoyed my meals there. A very nice place to enjoy your breakfast as you look down at a back corner of the Rijksmuseum. The hotel's little Jack Russell Terrier, Jackson, was fun to watch as she greeted guests in the morning.

In the reception area, the owner had put up lots of information about things to do and she came over while I was looking things over. Using a large city map she has mounted on the wall, she pointed out where some of the things were that I was interested in. I wish I had had more time, since so much was nearby - The Rijksmuseum, The Van Gogh Museum, and the Concertgebouw classical music hall were all just a few minutes away on foot.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luigi330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed some time in this charming hotel that is a small climb up the stairs for your daily exercise. The furniture is real antique, art nouveau style that gives the hotel a cosy warm feeling. The view from the breakfast room is splendid, so is the personally served breakfast. Personel is nice too and service is great. The rooms are nice. I payed for a bathroom on the hallway as that was ok to me. Internet was free and unlimited which was surprising for the price. All in all a very charming hotel with great service and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytripper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

After few days of stay, we recognised small black things moving in the room. It was mouses. We found two small holes on the floor. We kept some food with wrapping in the closet, so nothig we could do. Mouses showed up evey night by increasing number and got violent.
Another problem was room cleaning. Even we hang "do not disturbe" on door knob, room cleaning came in, and swiched our own towels to hotel cheap one. And what's more, chair was on my new leather Jacket in the open suit case. So my jacket got chair leg mark. The owner of the hotel gave us nasty attitude for our request.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turakichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

I was able to book a room when I got off the train at the information center. The hotel is in the museum district with a trolley stop across the street. Last day there I found a note asking to call reception. She asked if I could change rooms as some folks needed the room with a rollout bed. I found myself in the best room in the house. wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wholzworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We loved this little hotel. It did have a lot of steep stairs, but no problem! The breakfast was very cute and simple. The room was small, the beds were nice and clean. The bathroom was small, but always clean. The location was great. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#166 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#256 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museumzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museumzicht

Property: Hotel Museumzicht
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Museumzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Museumzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museumzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing