We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Museumzicht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Museumzicht
Ranked #219 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was a very nice stay. Breakfast was good, rooms too. One bathroom per floor, but wasn't a big problem. Great location - directly across street from Rijksmuseum! Kooky owner was fun too. Lots of stairs - quite an amusing sight the first time you walk in!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M-Assunta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    76
    41
    8
    13
See reviews for
15
65
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

First, those stairs. Do not stay here if you have vertigo, any sort of infirmity or heavy luggage. They're not just steep (I'm used to Dutch stairs), they're precipitous.
And don't stay here if you like the bland amenities and en suite facilities of a corporate chain. But do stay here if you want a closer approximation of what life in a normal Dutch home is like, in a very old-fashioned - and I mean that in a good way - hotel.
The room was pleasantly furnished, and comes with its own basin. Worth noting that there's no TV in the room. No street noise, but then I was up in the eaves with the world's tiniest window (your own personal Anne Frank experience). Breakfast was fine, and the breakfast room is lovely.
The other boon of this hotel is the location: trams from Central Station (line 2 and 5) and the bus to/from Schiphol (line 197) stop right outside the door, it's a stone throw from the major museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk) yet away from the tourist bustle (although the tourist hell of Leiseplein is a short stroll away).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baloopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a lovely characterful hotel in an excellent location with a easy halfhour bus ride from the airport. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are great.
The accommodation is fairly basic but with comfy beds, clean and with a sink in the room. Even though we had to share loo and shower rooms it wasn't really a problem as they were close, however they were very small and a tall person would have trouble!
I would recommend this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

With one exception -- the stairs that go up and up, right out of a Martin Escher drawing -- we have nothing but praise for this small hotel one block from the Rijksmuseum, two blocks from the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums, and directly on the tram stop to Central train station and bus stop to the airport.

The place appears to be a converted home and has interesting art works of all kinds that give a personal feeling. Accumulated over time by a single taste, rather than purchased to decorate a hotel.

We had a large double room on a corner with windows taking up nearly two walls -- windows that open, overlooking trees and the street. We can see the back arch of the Rijksmuseum from here. The twin beds, pushed together to make a large double, were deliciously comfortable. We rated this large and comfortable room by reserving for a week.

We were particularly taken with the (free) breakfasts, served by cheerful staff in a bright family dining room with plenty of windows. Sliced ham and cheese, soft-boiled eggs, and REAL CREAM fresh from the cow for our coffee.

The owner works in the hotel on Fridays. She has firm ideas about how guests should behave, and I must admit we were afraid to ask for seconds on coffee. Other days of the week you are safe!

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the kitchen, on the "lobby" floor. It did get some noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaBurtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I realise many people have their dislikes about this "Hotel" - but really it doesn't get more dutch than Hotel Museumzicht. Traveled there with my mom. Absolutely fabulous! The horrid stairs, rude hostess, arbitrary beds, shared bathroom and fabulous breakfast just added to our wonderful stay in Amsterdam. So close to all transport and amazing RIJSTTAFEL right around the corner (If you travelling to Holland - GOOGLE rijsttafel). I just can't bring myself to really fault this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoFoodFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Museumzicht last year yet I still check it out now and then as I really loved it. The staff were lovely and talked to me about my interest in their little trinkets and old pipes in the pretty and cosy dining room. We had been delayed on the boat over to France and had to call them panicking we'd be stranded outside as we'd get there so late but a staff member stayed up specially to let us in. I'll always remember how kind that was!
Our breakfast was really tasty with meats and cheeses, toast and eggs and it was a perfect location to jump on a tram. We were also next to museums and park. Pretty awesome all in all.
The only daunting thing was the stairs, they are really steep but that's just the trend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get there early, our room was up a lot of stairs, but we got there very very late! Or perhaps ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museumzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museumzicht

Property: Hotel Museumzicht
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Museumzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Museumzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museumzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing