We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam June 2012”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #325 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    83
    49
    93
See reviews for
26
69
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Location was excellent - right in the middle of everything so just a 3 min walk to Central Station, Dam Square, and the Red Light entertainment.

The room was clean and tidy. Only issues with the room was that it was on a considerable slant which makes sharing a bed interesting; and it was quite hot and stuffy.

The only down-sides were the 4 flights of narrow, steep stairs we had to drag our bags up and down (no lift) as we were on the top floor; and the one bathroom on that level was a pokey toilet and shower combo.

It's a little pricey for what you get but I found most hostels and hotels in Amsterdam were pretty expensive. But I guess you're paying for the location, which definitely it's best feature.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if you can to cut down on the stair climbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was only a two star hotel but I expected more, it has intenert access but that is about it. The staff were very friendly but the narrow stairs up to the rooms and no lifts meant it almost impossible to bring heavy bags up and down to the room. It is in a great location though and is near cafe's, restaurants and main shopping streets. it is a little pricy for my liking considering what you are getting for the price but good location .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I chose this hotel for its location... Well it's indeed in the centre of Amsterdam... Such as millions of other hotels...

If you're not a big fan of space (meaning having the possibility to put your bag somewhere else than on your bed), cleanliness (what better experience than sharing a bathroom not cleaned for what seems a few years or sleeping in the same linen than previous occupants. If you like cockroaches (don't worry, after killing 5 of them, the others got the message), then this hotel is meant for you!

It is overpriced, dirty as hell, not soundproofed at all, and I wouldn't have a closer look at their electricity system (the tv cable laying in the sink...)

To sum up, you can probably find better and cheaper looking somewhere else...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights and was given a en-suite room (208). Not with a city view as was requested in the original booking, but was extremely quiet. Ask them for the rooms not facing the main road for a good night sleep. For city view check out the city library ( 5 minute walk from the hotel, nice terrace on top, with very nice cafe, recommended by staff ). Booked a double room but stay alone as rooms are not big in and around city centre. It was everything I could have wanted from a hotel for this length of stay. Convenient for shopping and near the Central station. Though no breakfast but many restaurants on the main road (damrak). Very friendly staff , always willing to help in every matter. Would recommend this. Unlimited free wifi was a real plus. Will love to stay next time.

Room Tip: for good night sleep ask for a room at back of the hotel, not front side as it can be noisy for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I'd read a bunch of reviews here on TripAdvisor and was terrified the hotel was going to be terrible. Thankfully it wasn't as bad for me as for other people. I booked a room without an ensuite, but luckily I did actually get a shower in my room at no extra charge. I was on the second floor (room 100, overlooking the street). It's *tiny*. It has bunk beds and barely enough floor space to lay down my suitcase, let alone if there were two people staying here! I have to move my suitcase around to access the door/sink/shower.

The toilet is a few doors away. As other reviewers have said, it's tiny also, but at least you don't have to do gymnastics to reach the toilet paper behind you like a lot of hotels do.

As for my room, it does seem clean so no complaints there. The only hitch was the window which wouldn't lock. They "fixed" it on my second day but now it only opens vertically which means the ventilation isn't as good. So the room is quite warm, almost uncomfortably so.

As others have said the stairs are *very* steep, so don't book this hotel if you have any mobility issues. That said, the guy on reception did help me with my suitcase.

By far the best thing about this hotel is its central location. I was in and out all day today because it was just in the middle of everything and so easy to pop in and dump stuff you've picked up during the day.

If you're a sensitive sleeper it may be a little noisy, but I just put in earplugs and had no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#316 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#298 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#226 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#253 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#294 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Damrak 40/41, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing