We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exactly what you need it for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Ranked #69 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exactly what you need it for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

It's the perfect location - in the red light district, close to all the cafes & Dam Square
I wouldn't have ate the breakfast - it looked absolutely rank but we didn't care it was traditionally dutch! The rooms were funny I was in a single bed opposite my boyfriend in his single bed, mines had a double bed matress on the top of it but to be honest we didn't care because it's Amsterdam & we go loads of times a year anyway we were just recommended this hotel tried it & would definitely go back - cheap & cheerful & just what you needed it for!

Room Tip: Don't know if there is any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmizstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    133
    111
    37
    70
See reviews for
14
20
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam many times but this is the first hostel that I'd stayed in, in Amsterdam. I was there with 7 friends so looking for somewhere big enough to accommodate us, that didn't cost the world any wasn't a million miles away from everything we thought would be alot harder.
Me and one of the group arranged it all so the others didn't know where we were going till we got there so this was a bit of a gamble on our part but it paid off!
The room was a great size with bunk beds to accommodate us all and all of the rooms were themed as well, we got the Fight Club room which was great!
The bathroom is very small but adequate, bit of a dodgey smell at first but this wasn't an issue.
The location was very central and the cost was great value. We all agreed that when we return this will be our first choice

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSAALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oderzo, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hostel is in a central position (400 mt from Dam Square) and in the famous red light district. The place was cheap compared to the cleaning, the rooms and the position. The staff was friendly and the thing it really miss is a large common area (there is only the entrance hall, where they served the breakfast). I moved there from the Bulldog, more expansive, more noisy, but with a great common area!

Room Tip: Chose a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

location is excellent rooms are comfertable and tidy little bit noise from upstairs at night but dnt let that put you off all in all very good would defo stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank bryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night in March, only positive things to say. Clean room and bed, towel, and decent breakfast (free through booking at hostelbookers.com). Great location and friendly staff; building is a tad shabby. Recommended.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chaim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Heart of Amsterdam for a total of four days in February of 2011. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here, however it should be stressed that we were in no way seeking the highest of quality in our accommodation. Whilst the location can't be beaten for access to Amsterdam's infamous Red Light District, the rooms and hostel facilities are far from awe inspiring. Luckily - or perhaps unfortunately, if you're so inclined - the hostel has also inherited just enough of that Red Light District tackiness and charm to make for an enjoyable none the less.

Almost the entirety of Heart of Amsterdam's interiors are decorated in a garish combination of black walls and red bedspreads that causes the entire affair to feel nothing if not a little seedy. In fact, we had noted the various window girls lining the canals - the immediate view from our second story room - were sporting similar decorum from within their sex chambers. Each room is also equip with a hollywood themed feature wall, ours - plastered with a half naked girl swimming in rose petals - being the 'American Beauty room'. If this is the sort of thing that might be off-putting to you, then I would highly recommend not bothering with this hostel. As for us, we were thrilled and found the rooms to have a rather endearing tackiness to them.

Our twin room was equip with an ensuite bathroom, and although a little dingy, the place was kept clean daily. The facilities of the hostel itself are rather basic but the staff were friendly, helpful and always available. On the last night of our stay, our room's shower stopped working and the staff were quick to offer us the key to an empty room where we could go to shower instead. Breakfast is an additional three euro, but this is reportedly to be avoided and there are plenty of options nearby for a delicious breakfast instead. If there were any legitimate complaint to make, it would be that the rooms have a tendency to grow stuffy very quickly and this could be a problem for guests who are given a room without any windows. Overall though, the beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. What more can you really ask for?

The biggest redeeming factor for this hostel, however, is it's excellent location. Heart of Amsterdam offers fantastic access to the city center and is within walking distance to all the most desirable locations, but if it's the Red Light District you're after then there's really no place better situated than here. Next door to a sex shop, directly opposite window girls and a stones throw from coffee shops, bars and live sex acts, it certainly makes the walk home that much easier late at night. The street is always busy yet never too noisy and at no time did we feel unsafe. If you're in any way prudish about such things, however, then I would suggest you look elsewhere.

Overall, Heart of Amsterdam is a memorable stay and is sure to be enjoyable if you can just go with the flow and have a laugh at the tackiness of it all. I would definitely consider staying here again for any visit to the Red Light District or Amsterdam in general, however if you're primarily looking to explore other regions of this beautiful city then you'd probably do better to seek elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book early to secure a room with a window facing the street. We can personally vouch for the 'A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#11 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Durty Nelly's Inn
Durty Nelly's Inn
#40 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Property: Heart of Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing