We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good Ethiopian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenan Klein Afrika

Fenan Klein Afrika
Ranked #1,076 of 3,429 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good Ethiopian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We went to this restaurant after our friends told us about it. We must really thank them because it was a good experience indeed. The restaurant is small an cozy - ok, some more space would be welcome - and the staff is very friendly! The menu is quite varied and there are many different combinations of food, including vegetarian option. The typical dish is served on a big plate on a bed of soft pancakes and can be vegetables or different kinds of meat like chicken, beef, lamb, etc. all very tasty and, some of them, very spicy! The price is cheaper compared to other similar restaurant in the neighbourhood, where the setting is nicer but the food is not more tasty than that! Definitely a good option, recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FedericoPaesano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“AFRANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Fantastische eten, heerlijke atmosfeer, laagdrempelig.... do i need to say more.. yes i do :) The food was amazing, great atmosphere, and easy going.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IJsebaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
1 review
“A hidden secret...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our first experience with african food. The atmosphere was great, the food delicious and the service excellent! Definitely going back there. Perfect for every occasion, thereby it is quite cheap for Amsterdam standards.

Helpful?
Thank Mjwierckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

After visiting Ethiopia I can now say that in one of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam, one gets fabulous, genuine Ethiopian cuisine at a very sharp price. The atmosphere is good, the Eritrean owner very friendly, and the banana beer, served in a wooden cup, is chilled down to the right temperature. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeNotaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want real ethiopian food, that's it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Simply amazing food! When we go we never order from the menu, we just tell the chef\owner to bring whatever he wants and it has never been a disappointment. The price is super reasonable. We have never paid more than 15E per person including drinks. The ambiance is very exotic, super casual. If you are in town and if you like Ethiopian food, this place is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenan Klein Afrika also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Fenan Klein Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing