We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Jewel of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Jewel of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in this wonderful B&B for 3 nights during the Christmas of 2010 and it is the best decision we made.
It was a slow winter season with many visitors stranded at the airports due to heavy snow. We booked the Red Tulip Room but Carlos the owner offered us the (much bigger ) apartment downstairs with the same price !
This place is minutes to Dam Square and very stragitically located. The room is very clean, well decorated and comfortable, with a fantastic view overlooking the canal. Like all Amsterdam townhouses at the canal, carrying heavy luggages up the narrow winding staircases is a real chellenge.
Breakfast was great-- Cheese, Ham, Yoghurt, Friuts , freshly baked bread with eggs of you choice. Carlos will make sure you have enough dose of vitamine C of the day from his freshly squeezed oranges.

Carlos and Roelf -Jan are fantastic people who are friendly, warm and talented. Carlos, an artist who painted all the walls deco and Roelf -Jan is a film/photographer. They are very well informed of the places you are visiting and tickets are available at their B&B.

At the departure day, Carlos even got us a taxi right at the door steps to the airport at very resonable price during this difficult heavy- snow winter holiday.

The BEST B&B in Amsterdam.

Sunhead1617-We shall return !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKGC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
371
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
435 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent two nights at this charming, well-located B&B, and were very impressed with the service and the amazing breakfasts. Our rooms were quite spacious and oozed charm. Loved the free wifi, the resident cats, the skylights. Disliked the narrow, steep stairs (4 flights!), but Amsterdam is filled with steep steps, so we adjusted. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Sunhead is a wonderful B&B in an excellent part of Amsterdam. This charming building is 400 years old but is completely modernized and sits right on the Herengracht canal. The location could not be better. The canal district and Jordaan are the best parts of Amsterdam. You can walk to everything easily: restaurants, attractions and tourist destinations are a very short walk away. It is 2 minutes away from the tram station and 5 minutes from Dam Square
We stayed in the Red Tulip Room, which is located on the third floor. It was so comfortable and had a lovely view of the canal. It's spacious and it includes a king size bed, a small refrigerator, a sofa, a round table, a closet and has it's own bathroom; there is a nespresso maker in the room. The room is very clean, well decorated and has plenty of lighting from lamps, pendants, a large window and 2 small skylights. There is also free WIFI available. You have a nice view of the street and the canal from this room, it gives you a real feeling of a typical home in Amsterdam.
Carlos, the host, is fun and a fantastic cook. We were so spoiled with his super delicious breakfast. Fresh, creative and most delicious, the breakfasts were amazing as well yogurt with fresh fruit, cheese, boiled eggs, prosciutto, fresh bread, and homemade preserves.
Carlos is very helpful and a pleasure to chat to over breakfast and makes you feel very welcome. He was very helpful with giving us directions and information on what to do and places to see.
We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Friends and I stayed at the Sunhead B&B for 3 nights while staying in Amsterdam. The location of Sunhead was ideal-overlooking the canal. The rooms were accommodating to our needs and Carlos offered great suggestions on restaurants and places to see. I would highly recommed getting up early for his homemade breakfasts-AMAZING! We loved staying at the Sunhead B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethtarasievich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My first time in Amsterdam and everything was great thanks to Carlos and this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. I stayed in the Red Tulip Room, which was so comfortable and had a lovely view of the canal. Very charming. The breakfasts were incredible and Carlos was a terrific host, offering great suggestions of where to go and what to see. I loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinafromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Sunhead of 1617 certainly warrants all the great reviews. We stayed here for three nights in October 2010. Yes, Carlos certainly raises the bar when it comes to high standards of hosting a B&B. And you won't find better breakfasts!
Carlos recommended an authentic Dutch bistro close by called "Bij Ons" and we had a lovely hearty meal there. He also advised us on a canal trip run by Boathouse, and once again the booking office and starting point is a few blocks away. The boat wasn't too big, and the skipper was good. Treat yourself you great beers and friendly, professional service at Biercafe 't Arendsnest in Herengracht 90. The signboard hanging outside the building reads Puur, a brand of beer.
In summary, the Sunhead is a really good B&B, and well located.
Hugh and Wendy, Cape Town, South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveItaly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

we are senior citizens who were made very welcome at this b&b. the position to everything was excellent. if you have any difficulty climbing stairs don't stay as they are quite difficult, but having said that our hosts took care of all our luggage too & from our room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing