We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sunhead B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“Sunhead B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Location is great, the place is clean and cute, breakfast is wonderful, and the view is very nice. We would recommend it to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank llarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
371
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Having stayed in several mid-priced hotels in Amsterdam, I finally found thru my friends this wonderful little guest house. I am a working mother, who travels a lot for business, and sometimes takes children+husband with and stays over the weekend.
Sunhead is perfect for my needs, which include both business and leisure: quiet, friendly, flexible. You can rent only a room with a shower or an entire apartment, which is very convenient for a couple or a family. Sunhead is privately owned and very moderately priced place in a 400yrs old dutch house.
Carlos and Roelf-Jan are wonderful hosts, who make you feel at home. Especially appreciated: spotless clean, quiet, friendly, esthetically furnished. No luxury, but definately above average. If you have time for breakfast, it is included in the price, and quality is excellent.
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152
1016 BN Amsterdam
Phone + 31 (0) 20 626 18 09
[--]
info@sunhead.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed ten days with Carlos and Roelf and loved every minute. We stayed in the Yellow Room which was nice but without much of a view. Every morning started with a breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, bread, assorted jams and charming conversations. A better location than the Sunhead would be hard to find. My wife and I are looking forward to another stay in the future.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank IrishWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Myself & my wife just returned from a holiday in Holland which included a stay at the Sunhead apartment Pepo's Place. We did not spend much time inside the apartment but when we were the it was very good to have all the comforts of home in the apartment. (Microwave, dishwasher, percolator...) If was nice that it was just outside Amsterdam, the nights was quiet and peaceful. There is a Albert Heijn about three blocks away that stays open till 8 pm.

The only negative element we had was we the apartment stank of smoke, you are allowed to smoke on the balcony but when we got there the whole apartment had a smoke smell.

  • Liked — Very homely, central.
  • Disliked — Smoke Smell
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Just got back from a long weekend in Amsterdam staying in the Sunflower Apartment at Sunhead of 1617 on Herengracht.

The apartment is on one of the most beautfiul canals in a great, central location. The hosts are fantastic and easy going and the apartment is very clean, nicely decorated and with stunning views down Herengracht. It's the perfect place for a romantic getaway and we'll never even consider a hotel room again. If you want to do Amsterdam like a local get an apartment - you won't go far wrong with the Sunflower! We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank apeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the yellow narcissus room for 3 nights, the Sunhouse is situated adjacent to a canal and a short walk from city centre, the room is very clean and comfortable,access unfortunately is via 3 very steep flights of stairs and it does over look to the rear of the hotel.Having said that the room is good value for money.The highlight of each of our days was breakfast, the food was varied and of a high quality cooked and served by Carlos a very entertaining host.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank micnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Decided to go to Amsterdam on a last minute whim and Sunhead came highly recommended from another b&b owner - we were not disappointed.

We stayed on Oude Waal, which for us, was perfect. The location felt very safe, right on a canal, immediate walking distance from Nieuwmarkt (lively square lined with some great patios and cafes), and easy walking distance from the rest of the centre. The apartment itself was affordable, clean, and spacious with a nice balcony and furnishings.

We were also greeted by our excellent host, Arno, who was extremely accommodating and helpful to a first timers to the city.

Highly recommend, will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank NilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing