We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guiet place in Amsterdam”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #30 of 332 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A guiet place in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at the Yellow Narcissus room for 3 nights - a quiet and beautiful place in the middle of the best and most interesting part of town. The owner Carlos was an excellent host - and he served us af good and healthy breakfast every morning. Carlos is a very talented painter - you must see his wall paintings in the little cozy kitchen full of atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina19-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

A great place to stay. Clean and Cozy. Quiet rooms with a great view. Great breakfasts. Low price. Nearby restaurants, cafe, bars, museums and shopping.
Choose this place, you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloTravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was here the second time and I will always come back when staying in Amsterdam: Great canal view (red room), near train station, great restaurants, walking distance for important sights and city center. The owner is very friendly and helpful and serves a wonderful breakfast in a homely atmosphere. The rooms are furnished and decorated with love. So whenever I visit Amsterdam - either on business or for vacations I will com back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeLuBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in the Apartment Herengracht and loved it. My husband was most impressed by the large, fluffy pillows; something you don't always expect in Europe. I loved the tulips place in our room on our first day as we were sightseeing and the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Carlos. It was also fun to watch the tour boats go by and see everyone take a picture of the beautiful red building. I am sure I can be seen in some of the photos hanging out the apartment window!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnt010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2010

The apartment was well furbished and decorated, making our stay the most memorable. We would recommend the apartment to anyone planning to travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacklegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Just the most gorgeous place to stay in Amsterdam. Central to all the places of interest, Sunhead provided us with fabulous accomodation and the pleasure of having our host, Carlos, serve the most delicious breakfast and entertaintainment each morning. Although we stayed in the "yellow" room (which was great), we did take a peek at the "red" room, and that will definately be our choice on our next trip to Amsterdam. Offers a beautiful view of the canal and neighbouring buildings which are magnificent. Holidays are always great, but our stay at Sunhead made it soooo much better!! Carlos has created "The Blue Book" - a comprehensive and entertaining guide on where to eat (based on personal experience), what to do and where to do it - really worhtwhile following his advise. Our meal at Graves was probably the best dinner we've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PretoriaGrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-west UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Just back from a long weekend in Amsterdam, the first visit for both of us, and can't recommend Sunhead of 1617 highly enough. The location is brilliant, right on the Herengracht (one of the central canals), which means there is lots to do within walking distance, including the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. We didn't need to use public transport at all, but at the same time the area is incredibly peaceful, the only sounds we heard all night were church bells at 11pm and 7am. Great breakfasts, with yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh bread rolls, ham and cheese, were more than enough to set us up for the day. Helpful advice from Carlos meant that we really made the most of our time. He was able to recommend the best Indonesian restaurant in town (and tell us what time to go there to be able to get dinner without a recommendation) and also told us about the Friday evening late-night openings at the Van Gogh museum, which feature music, wine and no crowds (the school parties and coach tours have long gone by 7pm and the museum is open until 10 on Fridays). He was also able to point us in the direction of good canal/walking tours, both perfect introductions for first-time visitors. This local knowledge was invaluable. As well as the location itself, the traditional canalside house (yes, the stairs are steep!) made us feel we were really getting an authentic taste of Amsterdam. Room and ensuite facilities spotless and no tv or phone made the break even more relaxing. Definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HettyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#149 of 368 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 229 in Amsterdam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 332 in Amsterdam
912 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#32 of 332 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#73 of 332 in Amsterdam
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing