We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #34 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2005

We stayed with Rolfe and Carlos last weekend and have to say, it exceeded our expectations. We had booked the Red room but unfortunatly when we arrived, Carlos told us they had a problem with the roof and we unfortunatly couldn't stay there. I have to say we were initially very dissapointed as we were looking forward to staying in such beautiful surroundings but the alternative room they gave us was equally stunning. I think it's called the sun room - for good reason - ceiling to floor windows across the whole of the front wall and looking straight out across the Canal. We were very lucky with the weather and woke up each morning to a room filled with warm light and surrounded by beautiful ornaments & wonderful furniture. The room also had it's own self contained corridor with separate bathroom so it was like having our own mini apartment.
The breakfasts were wonderful, Carlos prepares some excellent fresh fruit yoghurts followed by eggs, ham, cheeses and a variety of wholesome breads juices & tea / coffee. Very tasty as well as very healthy !
The weekend was a joint celebration for us - a combination of my 40th and our 12th wedding anniversary and Rolfe very kindly took us for a tour of the canals on the Saturday evening in his boat. We started off at 8.00 pm and didnt get back till 10:00 pm having seen pretty much all of Amsterdam from the water while the sun went down (Sunset over the Amstel - wonderfull) and the lights came up. Rolfe, we can't thank you enough for taking the time to show us such a beautiful side of Amsterdam, the memory will stay with us forever and made our weekend very special indeed. Thank you very much from both of us.
We would highly recommend Sunhead B&B if you are looking for somewhere very special to stay right in the heart of Amsterdam. A definate breath of fresh air compared to the usual soulless hotels !
Simon & Elly

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2005

My fiancee and I, with two teenage children, were looking for somewhere in the heart of the Jordaan to chill for a few days at the end of a holdiday/work trip to Europe. We have used Tripadvisor before and have never been let down, this was no exception! We opted for one of the flats detailed on their webside ([-]) overlooking the Brouwersgeracht Canal.

The great thing about the Jordaan is that all of life is here. On the opposite side of the canal there was a house being renovated for a television programme (no sign of Lawrence Llewellen Bowen thank goodness), another photographic crew were shooting advertising for the launch of a new car on the bridge near by and we witnessed what must have been the politest drug bust in history when a policeman on a bike collared a rather well dressed young man with the two chatting like long lost friends until a van arrived.

The flat itself was wonderful, spacious, light and well fitted. One of twenty created from a canalside warehouse. A large sheltered balcony, over-looking the canal, is an added bonus. The second bedroom can be made into a twin and the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I am going to try and contact the owner and try to find where he bought them! If possible, I shall aquire some and have them shipped to the UK. It's worth noting that the second bedroom is down a steep spiral staircase, but it does have a direct exit to the atrium. You are less than one hundred yards from a local (as opposed to tourist) shopping street that will provide for all your needs.

All in all a success, and better that described and illustrated in the website. I travel a lot on business and pleasure and judge a organisation or individual on how that react to a problem, now how they handle the day to day routine. This test was passed as well, there was no problem with the holiday or the flat, but we did have a personal problem at home whilst there and the proprietor could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2005

a wonderful clean and friendly b&b request the room on the top floor, the lovely view is worth treking up the stairs. breakfast always delicious and the hosts are helpful and kind. i've stayed here several times.

Helpful?
1 Thank nancenet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Hello I stayed with Carlos and Roelf April 16th-21st at their Dam Square 2nd floor Aparment/Studio a very nice Aparment and I enjoyed the stay. Unlike other hotels in Amsterdam that hassle you about smoking and maid trying to come clean your room while you are sleeping or smoking is annoying. With Sunhead nobody bothers you during your stay and the building I was in was very safe and secure. Also this Aparment has just about the best View you can get in all of Amsterdam right in the middle of Dam Square. Also the price was great 1/2 the price of most nice hotels.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2005

My husband and I just stayed at the Sunhead for the second time in 4 years and we absolutely love it there! The rooms are ALL charming, the food wonderful and everyone you come in contact with is so friendly and helpful... We did not plan on going to Amsterdam but plans changed and we called, we were so lucky they had the yellow room in the back avail. So please plan ahead or you could miss out on the best place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Sunhead and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of B&B's. Our hosts, Carlos and Roelf-Jan, made us feel right at home (which included helping us with our luggage up the very steep stairs-which are typical of these beautiful Dutch homes!).
Not only is the location of Sunhead ideal for exploration of the city, but it is ideal for someone who wants to truly experience Amsterdam. The beautiful canal, cobblestone street, people watching as they walk or ride by on their bikes in all kinds of weather, boats going by in the evening with their lights reflecting on the water....I could go on and on.
Breakfast (which was served to us in our room-what a luxury!) consisted of eggs, fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, cheeses, fresh juices, excellent coffee....and was so hardy we never bought a lunch while we were there. Plus our room was immaculate and was kept that way through the entire length of our stay. We will certainly go back to this B&B if we are ever lucky enough to get back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2005

"Sunhead" will give you the true feel of Amsterdam. My girlfriend and I recently stayed there and we loved it. The Red room is very romantic, the view was stunning and the breakfast was absolutely FANTASTIC!! Carlos was very cool and the place was super clean. The only considerations would be that the steps are very steep and the shower head in the red room can be low for someone over 6 feet tall (me). The stay was great!!

Helpful?
1 Thank mmonreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 336 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#31 of 336 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 230 in Amsterdam
157 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 336 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing