We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

From the moment we started the process of booking til we checked out everything was great. When booking Carlos explained how to get there, museums nearby, boat tours, advised us on restaurants etc.
The b & b is ideally located in a quiet neighbourhood but just minutes from the centre. It is a typical Dutch house so very steep stairs and no lift to get to the bedroom which wasn't a problem apart from when returning from a big meal & a coffee shop!
Great views from our bedroom (Tulip Room) to the canal. Very clean room and confortable bed.
The best part... breakfast! Sat at a long table with the other guests while the owner freshly prepared an amazing breakfast consisting of smoothies, juices, scrambled eggs, vegetables and of course plenty of breads & cheese!
All in all, a lovely place when visiting the city, would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Tulip Room is lovely overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
371
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Carlos and Roelf's 400-year old, tastefully decorated inn on peaceful Heren Canal was a delight to experience, and the delicious breakfast at their big bright kitchen table was one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. It was the perfect central location, around the corner from the Anne Frank House.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you need a place to stay while in Amsterdam, you cant go wrong with Sunhead. The location is great for roaming around the city, the rooms are clean and the host is wonderful. You cant go wrong by staying at Sunhead. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vered C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

From start to finish, Carlos and Roelf-Jan couldn't do enough for us ... from turning the fabulous Tulip room into a twin at time of booking to the carrying of our bags down the three flights of narrow winding stairs at the end of our stay, whilst we went for a last look around amazing Amsterdam.
The attention to detail is spot on ... Different coloured bedding and matching towels for each guest and fabulous art work and artefacts to feast your eyes on. An overall sense of peace and tranquility permeates this gorgeous B&B that is livened up at breakfast time by Carlos's ironic laughter and Roelf-Jan's brilliant butlering.
The best though are the sumptuous breakfasts. Freshly squeezed smoothies with a zing of ginger that ready your taste buds for the plateful of fluffy bacon infused scrambled eggs and warm rolls, followed by a pot of fresh fruit in quark and chestnut sauce. Tea by the potful, cheese on demand and a request about the chestnut sauce that led to a packet being given as a gift.
Carlos and Roelf-Jan and their staff are wonderful and welcoming. They made our short trip one to treasure and I'm so glad we stayed at Sunhead 1617.
Thank you guys, you are very special hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent two nights in Sunhead of 1617 at the beginning of april 2014. It's so close to central station and to everything you would like to see in Amsterdam; you can consider just walk everywhere.
Sunhead it's friendly and Carlos it's a great host. Breakfast it's delicious; you have to ask nothing because Carlos cooks everything you would need and serve it.
It seems to be at home, but you are in a real Amsterdam house dated 1617; narrow and with steep stairs!
We had The Narcissus room; upper floor; under a great wooden roof. Clean and with confortable bathroom. Not facing the canal but quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertoRosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Carlos and Roelf-Jan are the nicest and most welcoming hosts imagineable, Carlos' breakfasts are great, and the rooms, especially the gable Tulip room where we slept, are very charming. Add to that a fantastic location on the Herengracht canal, and there's no wonder we'd reccommend Sunhead1617 to anybody!

Room Tip: The Tulip room- a gable room with amacing ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof3Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Sunhead of 1617 is clean, the tulip room is spacious and relaxing, and the breakfast is delicious. Carlos and Rolf treated us as first-class guests. Once we booked our room, we received an email with links to fun places in Amsterdam which helped with planning a fantastic trip.

We usually stay in hotels, but this place looked so nice and we are glad we chose it. Sunhead of 1617 is near restaurants, the Anne Frank house, and so many other attractions within walking distance. It's also located in the nicest neighborhood in Amsterdam (less students, quieter, aesthetically pleasing landscaping) called Jordaan.

The entire b&b is spotlessly clean. Very nice aromas in the foyers & staircase. Speaking of staircase, it is very narrow (as are all that we used in Amsterdam). My husband and I are in excellent physical shape and were winded at the top of the stairs the first day. The tulip room is worth the walk up the staircase if you are willing to hike up 50 steep steps. If not, choose a room on a lower floor. No tv or phone in the tulip room.

Thank you Carlos and Rolf!

Room Tip: Tulip room is wonderful. Stay in a lower floor if you do not want to walk up steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queensmommy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing