We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Queen B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #22 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Queen B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

From start to finish, Carlos and Roelf-Jan couldn't do enough for us ... from turning the fabulous Tulip room into a twin at time of booking to the carrying of our bags down the three flights of narrow winding stairs at the end of our stay, whilst we went for a last look around amazing Amsterdam.
The attention to detail is spot on ... Different coloured bedding and matching towels for each guest and fabulous art work and artefacts to feast your eyes on. An overall sense of peace and tranquility permeates this gorgeous B&B that is livened up at breakfast time by Carlos's ironic laughter and Roelf-Jan's brilliant butlering.
The best though are the sumptuous breakfasts. Freshly squeezed smoothies with a zing of ginger that ready your taste buds for the plateful of fluffy bacon infused scrambled eggs and warm rolls, followed by a pot of fresh fruit in quark and chestnut sauce. Tea by the potful, cheese on demand and a request about the chestnut sauce that led to a packet being given as a gift.
Carlos and Roelf-Jan and their staff are wonderful and welcoming. They made our short trip one to treasure and I'm so glad we stayed at Sunhead 1617.
Thank you guys, you are very special hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent two nights in Sunhead of 1617 at the beginning of april 2014. It's so close to central station and to everything you would like to see in Amsterdam; you can consider just walk everywhere.
Sunhead it's friendly and Carlos it's a great host. Breakfast it's delicious; you have to ask nothing because Carlos cooks everything you would need and serve it.
It seems to be at home, but you are in a real Amsterdam house dated 1617; narrow and with steep stairs!
We had The Narcissus room; upper floor; under a great wooden roof. Clean and with confortable bathroom. Not facing the canal but quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertoRosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Carlos and Roelf-Jan are the nicest and most welcoming hosts imagineable, Carlos' breakfasts are great, and the rooms, especially the gable Tulip room where we slept, are very charming. Add to that a fantastic location on the Herengracht canal, and there's no wonder we'd reccommend Sunhead1617 to anybody!

Room Tip: The Tulip room- a gable room with amacing ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof3Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Sunhead of 1617 is clean, the tulip room is spacious and relaxing, and the breakfast is delicious. Carlos and Rolf treated us as first-class guests. Once we booked our room, we received an email with links to fun places in Amsterdam which helped with planning a fantastic trip.

We usually stay in hotels, but this place looked so nice and we are glad we chose it. Sunhead of 1617 is near restaurants, the Anne Frank house, and so many other attractions within walking distance. It's also located in the nicest neighborhood in Amsterdam (less students, quieter, aesthetically pleasing landscaping) called Jordaan.

The entire b&b is spotlessly clean. Very nice aromas in the foyers & staircase. Speaking of staircase, it is very narrow (as are all that we used in Amsterdam). My husband and I are in excellent physical shape and were winded at the top of the stairs the first day. The tulip room is worth the walk up the staircase if you are willing to hike up 50 steep steps. If not, choose a room on a lower floor. No tv or phone in the tulip room.

Thank you Carlos and Rolf!

Room Tip: Tulip room is wonderful. Stay in a lower floor if you do not want to walk up steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queensmommy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent two nights in two different rooms and they were both just wonderful.
The hostel is very close to the center, in the middle of the Grachten-Quarter.
Its obvious that the two hosts have a lot of travel-experience, everything is just perfect!

Room Tip: Take the Tulip Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indosurfivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Amazing! Fantastic position by Herengracht canal and easy to walk around central Amsterdam. A very lovely, comfortable, spotless ensuite room with a view over the canal. Carlos and Roelf are lovely and are seriously some of the best hosts we have come across! The most delicious breakfasts whilst socialising with the other guests and at the same time Carlos can advise on the best places to visit. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam now and thoroughly recommend the experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had two lovely nights at Sunhead. Carlos and Roelf were great hosts - friendly, interesting and helpful. The house is so interesting and in an excellent location. We had the Tulip room on the top floor, which was comfortable, with a good view of the canal and very clean. The delicious breakfast beats a hotel meal any day - we certainly hope to return to this B&B.

Room Tip: The Tulip Room is a climb - but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing