We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #37 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights, but we wish we could have stayed longer! Sunhead of 1617 surpassed all our expectations. The breakfast was beyond amazing, the location was perfect, and the hosts were lovely. We loved chatting with Carlos in the morning over breakfast! We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, and it was completely up to Dutch standards - spotless! It had a beau...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaandaaron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Sunhead of 1617
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 658 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great time at this amazing bed & breakfast, certainly lived up to expectations and reviews. We stayed in the Tulip room, an experience of exposed beams, cosy furnishings and interesting decorations, with bonus views of the canal. Carlos and Rolf are excellent hosts and very accommodating, especially helpful with information prior to visit. Both mornings of our stay we looked forward to a delicious, beautifully prepared breakfast, with friendly chats around the grand old table. Well situated for accessibility of city sights. Would love to re-visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This B&B is everything you could wish for, clean, comfortable beds, and centrally located so you can access all the Amsterdam sites. When you read reviews from other travellers you just hope they are accurate. In the case of Sunhead they are more than accurate. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends who visit Amsterdam.
Carlos and Roelf are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and over breakfast they keep the conversations flowing, always interesting and humerous. The breakfasts prepared by Carlos are wonderful and kept us going all day. I cannot overstate the case this B&B is No.1.
Even the stairs are fun. We will be back.. Tom & Lorna

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomFairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We expected a lot from the Sunhead after reading reviews and it exceeded them, amazing building with such a cosy and nicely decorated and well equipped room with private bathroom. breakfast was incredible and we even got given a take away breakfast when we had to leave early to catch our flight. great hospitality and excellent location, so easy to access all the tourist sites and next to a beautiful canal

Room Tip: they all seem great!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very nice B&B perfectly located in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms are very organized, clean and condusive for relaxing. Breakfast served is truly one of a kind, cooked with so much passion and love; the taste is amazing. Would love to stay here again in my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKWang1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Sunhead B&B for 3 nights in February and loved our stay. Our room was lovely and quirky with a great canal view and exposed beams. The breakfast was delicious with Carlos cooking something different everyday, a lovely smoothie and fruit pot. The location is great too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ns_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for five nights and found the Tulip Room, breakfast, and owners, all first class. The stairs are a nightmare but they helped by taking our luggage up at the beginning and down at the end of our stay otherwise we may well have had to leave it in the entrance!! But quite an experience and worth the effort for the comfort of the room and the views from the windows. We assume this is what you get in a building nearly 400 years old. Well placed for all of the sights of Amsterdam which are all within walking distance

Room Tip: Only saw the Tulip Room but well recommended
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#173 of 371 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#27 of 337 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 238 in Amsterdam
163 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#56 of 337 in Amsterdam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $130 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing