We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Place to stay”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #30 of 332 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Place to stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Can't add anything to these reviews. They are all true. We were able to walk everywhere. It was all that we thought it would be. We arrived early from the States and they were very kind about letting us leave our luggage. We also had to store our luggage bfeore our ship left ,and they worked that out for us, too. The hosts are wonderful and most gracious. We would give this our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a fabulous location, clean rooms and fantastic breakfasts. Both Carlos and Roelf were helpful with suggestions of things to do, places to go and how to get there. They never seem to tire of "stupid tourist" questions. Very welcoming and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lar2sharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As reputed the breakfasts were fabulous - greeted with a tangy 'smoothy' and the rest...well you just have to be there. "Her royal highness" (cat) bothers no one. The location is within easy access to the centre city, Anne Frank House, great museums and up-scale shops. Near to relaxing bars, cafes and restful canals. While waiting for an early morning taxi to the airport we were given chocolat and coffee and handed breakfast panini and smoothy to go.
The narrow steep stairs are part and parcel of old houses in Amsterdam - for newbes to Amsterdam watch out for bikes when they are driven by novices.
The room was comfortable and well-appointed. Great B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay here when in Amsterdam. My husband and I loved our stay in the Iris room. It was clean, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The location of the hotel was great too. I think the best part was the amazing and delicious breakfast we were served each morning! I could not have imagined staying anywhere better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAB062709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two nights at Sunhead. Location was central, and reasonable to all the major Stites. Breakfast was FANTSTIC both mornings. Carlos is a great cook, and we loved his wall paintings they also have a cool cat. Our highest recommendations and we would stay again

Room Tip: Steps are steep and we appreciated their willingness to get the bags up the stairs. Loved the top r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yexplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Carlos was an excellent host. Breakfast was lovely and he even when out of his way to give us a packed breakfast for our early departure which was greatly appreciated. Room was lovely and had a lovely view of one of the canal, beware very narrow staircase to get to room :). Centrally situated so we were able to walk wherever we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Many thanks to Carlos and Roelf-Jan for making my stay in Amsterdam so memorable.

Sunhead is conveniently located to many sites, is tastefully decorated, and breakfast really was delicious.

I would recommend Sunhead to anyone planning to visit Amsterdam, and would not stay anywhere else should I have to return someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#149 of 368 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 229 in Amsterdam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 332 in Amsterdam
912 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#32 of 332 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#73 of 332 in Amsterdam
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing