We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and experience”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #30 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“Perfect location and experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Tulip room (red room) with the high ceilings and canal view. The decor was fun, the bed was comfortable, and the view was great. If you request this room, be prepared for lots of skinny, spiraled stairs because it's on the 4th floor.
The location of this house is perfect. It's one block over from the Anne Frank house, so it's on the edge of the beautiful Jordaan district (which was our favorite neighborhood). There are many good restaurants and stores right nearby, it feels more neighborhoody (I highly recommend just walking around this neighborhood), and on Mondays there is a large flea market.
The building is very cute and people stop to take pictures of the many plants out front.
Carlos and Roelf are very friendly and wonderful hosts. In the mornings, Roelf-Jan makes smoothies and coffee while Carlos whips up something delicious (scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or paninis with jamon and apple, always followed with berries in greek yoghurt) while he entertains you with hilarious stories.
I would definitely recommend the Sunhead and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeWinton, AB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Tulip room at Sunhead in June. The location is superb - walking distance to so many of the sites and great local restaurants. Carlos and Roelf are great hosts. Breakfasts were delicious and the conversation lively and entertaining. Our room was on the top floor (be prepared for the steep stairs typical of such a historical building) overlooking the canal. It was very comfortable, modern and immaculate. We booked well in advance to ensure our stay and were not disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sunhead of 1617 Bed and Breakfast during our recent visit to Amsterdam. We could not have been happier with our experience--it was simply delightful! The decor is unique and appealing; the food is simply delicious; the rooms are impressively clean and tidy; and the location is perfect for sightseeing. Carlos and Roelf were exceptionally accommodating, including moving us to another room (the room we booked for the first night was already booked for the second night so we needed to switch). Both rooms were simply delightful! I would stay at Sunhead of 1617 again in a heartbeat, and I heartily recommend it for anyone who is looking for a wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Sunhead. It was the perfect location for our first visit to Amsterdam. Their B&B is cozy, the bathrooms are modern, and the views were great! We booked well in advance (about 8 months) to ensure a canal view with the Tulip room, which is located on the top flooor. Carlos and Roelf were the best hosts we have had at a B&B, and their breakfasts are absolutely delicious! Out of all of our traveling, it was the best we had on our 3 week trip! They were very helpful with advance ticket purchasing, laundry, helping find markets and shops, and wonderful suggestions for dinner. Staying at Sunhead was such a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam!
Thank you, Carlos and Roelf, for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the canal, choose the Tulip Room. It is at the top of the house, with a cozy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsupecas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Make this B&B your first choice!
We can only repeat all of the excellent comments from previous reviewers. Carlos and Roelf are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble beginning with delightful breakfasts to useful info helping plan our days in Amsterdam.
Our room was the Jasmine one, overlooking the canal. Clean room and a comfortable bed.
Thoroughly recommended.
Only downside?.............the stairs are steep.

Room Tip: Jasmine room at the front overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Carlos and Roelf were great hosts, sharing info on their city and helping to get tickets to museums for us. Carlos' breakfasts are to die for, creative and delicious while Roelf's smoothies were absolutely tasty creations. We had the Tulip room and it is spacious and sweet while overlooking the canal. Would highly recommend Sunhead B& B to anyone going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sunhead was ideal for our first visit to Amsterdam with our friends. The location was perfect for walking to many city highlights and the rooms were clean and quaint. Carlos and Roelf were very informative and charming hosts. They even went above and beyond to ship some of my clothes to my next trip destination when I realized I had left them behind! Carlos delighted us with a delicious and unique breakfast each morning. I especially liked the red exterior of the row house which was dramatic and impressively stood out on the street. Sunhead gets my top recommendation!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#142 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#72 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing